WuFeng University – TAIWAN is HOME away from HOME

WuFeng University
Nitish Nair
India

Name: Nitish Nair From: India Graduate From: WuFeng University Position: FEMCO/Product Engineer
The Impressive Life in Taiwan

Hello everyone, Ni Hao (你好)

Myself Nitish Nair and my Chinese name is Ni Nair (倪奈爾). I am living in Taiwan for the past 7 years. I came to Taiwan in the year of 2013 to pursue my bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from WuFeng University located in Chiayi. While doing my bachelors, I was also doing internship at FEMCO, one of the most esteemed companies in Taiwan.

 

Before coming here, I knew Taiwan only because of Taipei 101 and as semiconductor hub of the world. When I arrived here, I was very excited. First, I was excited because it was my first time in a foreign country, and second because I was going to live something really new in my life. During my initial days, I faced many hurdles here and first on the list was language. Learning Chinese wasn’t an easy process. I used to take Chinese classes just two hours a week and all the other students in the class were from India too and this was not helping at all. Thus, from that period until now, I learned the language with the help of new local friends I had met and my Taiwanese colleagues.

 

Besides the experience of studying a new language, making new friends was the best aspect of living in Taiwan. I had a friend who I met at school through the language exchange program. Mostly I used to spend weekend with him and we used to go out often. He took me to many interesting places and showed me the authentic Taiwan way of life by introducing me to his family, his friends and culture. Out of all the places I visited here, I love the east part of Taiwan the most. Hualian and Taitung are so beautiful and mesmerizing that I feel like going there every once in a while.

 

Moreover, going out constantly and talking to him helped me to improve the skills with the language and mainly to be familiar with the Taiwanese people and their habits and customs. I came to know that in Taiwanese culture, number “4” is considered as unlucky while number 6 is considered as lucky. In India there is no specific number considered as unlucky, but people consider odd numbers like 1,5,7 as lucky, specially number ending with 1, for example 111 or 501.

 

The next hurdle I came across in Taiwan was food. The cuisine back home in India is primarily vegetarian and the spice content is higher as compared to Taiwanese food. I prefer to eat rice with curry. But when I came to Taiwan, the first meal I got was a Taiwanese lunch box which had white rice, cooked vegetables, pork and no spices at all! And I had to eat all that using chopsticks. This was totally new to me. But as days went by, I got used to the cuisine here and now I enjoy it. As of now, oyster omelette and minced pork rice are my favorites. Although I have learned how to use chopsticks, I have not perfectly mastered the skill yet, so I am still clumsy sometimes.

 

Working in a different country comes with a complete change of lifestyle – it definitely did for me. Having an 8-5 job in a different country in a different language does sound intimidating, but I realized it is an opportunity to experience something different and improve on skills, not only language skills but also life skills. After graduation, I joined the same company FEMCO. As I did my internship here, I was familiar with the people and work here. My multilingual communication skill combined with my technical skills helped me to act as a bridge between my company and the clients we have in Indian subcontinent and all across the globe.

 

One of the reason I love Taiwan is the way they do things here. Just take COVID-19 pandemic as an example. When the whole world is under lockdown, people in Taiwan are able to live a normal life. The level of understanding and co-operation between the government and people here is very impressive and this surprises me.

 

To conclude, studying, working and living in Taiwan is an enriching experience for me as it forced me to adapt to things that were unfamiliar and unusual to me. I became independent and open to new exciting and terrifying challenges that I would have never encountered in my home country. And that is the most rewarding of all, life in Taiwan gave me the opportunity to learn and develop as a person, helped me to discover new things, beliefs and passion that were unknown to me before. Interacting with new people and culture has opened my eyes to all sorts of aspects of life.

Annual International Cultural Festival in WuFeng University
Celebrating Holi is one of the biggest event for Indians.

回饋表單




Feedback

吳鳳科技大學 – 臺灣的美深深「印」在心裡

吳鳳科技大學
倪奈爾
印度

倪奈爾 來自: 印度 畢業學校: 吳鳳科技大學 任職於遠東機械,擔任工程師
印度生在吳鳳科技大學追逐夢想

我是Nitish Nair,中文名字叫倪奈爾。算起來我已經在臺灣住了7年,從2013年來嘉義的吳鳳科技大學攻讀機械工程系學士班開始,一邊讀書之餘也在全臺知名的「遠東機械」作實習。

 

在我來臺灣之前,對臺灣的印象只有台北101跟半導體技術穩居全球中心。我剛到臺灣的時候非常高興,一來是因為我第一次到異國讀書與生活,二來則是因為我希望能在臺灣有與眾不同的體驗。我剛來的頭幾天,我碰到不少困難而名列第一的就是「語言溝通」,因為學中文並不簡單。以前我只有一週上兩個小時的中文課,而班上其他同學也都來自印度因此對學中文並沒有太多幫助。因此,從那時候開始透過在臺灣認識的新朋友以及同事的幫忙我學了不少中文。

 

除了在臺灣學中文,結交朋友也是我在臺灣生活一大樂趣。我有個之前在學校語言交換計畫認識的朋友,我跟他常常周末相約出去走走,他會帶我去很多有意思的地方以及介紹他的家人與朋友讓我認識臺灣傳統文化及人民如何生活。在台灣曾走訪過的地方,我最愛的就是臺灣東部如花蓮與台東,因為真的很漂亮風景也很迷人,非常適合閒暇時沉澱身心靈。

 

此外,常常跟朋友四處走訪並用中文交談的確有提升我的中文能力以及更加認識臺灣人民與當地風俗民情。我後來了解在臺灣文化當中,數字4是不吉利的而數字6則是大吉大利;在印度則沒有特別將數字區分為吉利或不吉利,但印度人普遍把奇數如1,5,7視為吉利,尤其是數字結尾是1的,如111及501。

 

在臺灣遇到的另一個困難就是「食物」。印度料理主要是素食,再來就是添加的香料比臺灣料理更多元豐富,因此我比較喜歡吃咖哩飯這類的食物。我到臺灣的時候,第一餐吃的就是臺式便當,裏頭有白飯、燙蔬菜、豬肉,但就是沒有加任何香料或辣椒粉! 另外我還要用筷子吃,種種一切對我來說都很新奇。而隨著日子久了,我也習慣臺灣料理的口味也開始享受了。到目前為止,蚵仔煎與滷肉飯是我最喜歡的食物。雖然我已經學了怎麼使用筷子,但總是無法成功駕馭它偶爾還是會出糗。

 

在異國工作總會有一連串不同的生活體驗,而我正身歷其境。在異國從早上8點工作到下午5點並使用當地語言真的令人心生畏懼,但後來換個角度想這也是個能體驗不同生活的機會,不僅能提升中文能力也可以磨練生活技能。我大學畢業之後,遠東機械 (FEMCO)聘用我為公司員工,因之前在這裡實習,所以公司同事及工作內容都相當熟悉。而我的語言專長在這裡也派上用場,中文、英文與印度文三語並進讓我有機會協調印度母國甚至全球客戶業務上的往來與合作。

 

我喜歡臺灣的其中一個原因就是臺灣人做事情的方法。例如以全球大流行的新冠肺炎 (COVID-19,俗稱武漢肺炎)為例,正當全球各國接連宣布封城令之下,臺灣民眾仍可以上街出門過一般生活不需要被封城,臺灣政府與人民之間的體諒與合作真的令我印象非常深刻。

 

真要總結的話,我的人生因在臺灣讀書、工作與生活確實更加多采多姿,也有機會去嘗試與適應各種以前不習慣及不熟悉的事情。在這裡我也越來越能獨當一面,勇於面對及挑戰以前在印度不敢或不曾體驗過的事情,而這些正好就是最珍貴的經歷,在臺灣生活讓我有學習的機會及雕塑自我特質,也讓我能不斷探索以前從未有過的領域、信念及熱情,能有機會與不同的人與文化交流著實令我大開眼界,生命也更加璀璨。

吳鳳科技大學一年一度「國際文化季」
荷麗節是印度人及印度教徒的重要節日,也是印度傳統新年。

回饋表單




Feedback