Shih Hsin University-The 2019 Golden Horse Film Project Promotion, Shih Hsin Malaysian Alumni LEONG Tuck-fai’s Amphibian Life was Nominated

Shih Hsin University
LEONG Tuck-fai
Malaysia

Name: LEONG Tuck-fai From: Malaysia Graduate From: Shih Hsin University Position: Movie Industry/Movie Director
LEONG Tuck-fai’s film I Love M.U.M was nominated in several film festivals. This year, his new feature, Amphibian Life, is nominated in The 2019 Golden Horse Film Project Promotion.

The 2019 Golden Horse Film Project Promotion (FPP) has received 382 film proposals from 15 countries and areas, and 40 applications have been nominated in the end. Among them, there were 3 Malaysian proposals nominated, including Amphibian Life directed by LEONG Tuck-fai, Hilang by Kyo CHEN and Cul De Sac by Sky GAN Yu-long. LEONG Tuck-fai is the alumni from the graduate school of the Department of Radio, Television and Film, Shih Hsin University.

LEONG Tuck-fai is the alumni from the Graduate School of Radio, Television and Film, Shih Hsin University. His graduate work, I Love M.U.M, won several nominations in international film festivals. His new movie, Amphibian Life, is focus on migrant workers. He joined Sin Chew Daily’s interview and stated with joy: “I am inspired. This is my first time to be nominated by FPP and it also is another feature after I Love M.U.M”. LEONG Tuck-fai is from Bandaraya Bahru, Malaysia, whose parents once worked in Singapore, which brought his idea of seeking the sense of identity of Malaysian workers as well as migrant workers in Malaysia.

 

Not a math fan, but set foot on the movie journey by teacher’s encouragement.

LEONG Tuck-fai did not dream to become a director. After graduating from high school, he did not have any idea in pursuing higher education. However, owing to having a similar interest with a girl and being encouraged by his mother, he chose to study communications.

He pointed that during his study in mass communications, he had the opportunity to learn about photography and film making, which brought his interest in shooting. “ I don’t like math. Photography and filming do not need to do math and with the encouragement by the teacher, it pushed me to go further on this journey.”

Before studying in Taiwan, LEONG Tuck-fai worked in a television program production company. With that internship experience, he made his decision to become a movie director. “ Back then, there was an Executive Producer asking me which position I would like to take? I responded “Director” without a second thought and said I admired Ang-Lee the most. However, the Executive Producer treated him harshly.

 

Paying tribute to Ang-Lee, studying in Shih Hsin makes his dream come true.

LEONG Tuck-fai did not take it, but made up his mind to take the journey to become a movie director and wish that one day the Executive Producer would be able to see his success. To broaden his horizon and to prove his ability, LEONG Tuck-fai passed the examination of the dual degree program and came to Taiwan to study at the Department of Radio, Television and Film in Shih Hsin University. After graduation, he went back to Malaysia for work, but he was in the rut for two years. To enhance his ability, he came back to Shih Hsin University to study the Graduate School of the Department of Radio, Television and Film in 2010. Bringing back the memories in Shih Hsin University, LEONG Tuck-fai expressed that the solid training and things he learned in college really help a lot in his career and work.

 

While his study in Shih Hsin University, LEONG Tuck-fai was laid the solid foundation of training, which has brought him a lot of cases from the industry. When mentioning of Shih Hsin University, he is always proud to be one of the alumni. “ No matter where I am working for, all the alumni of Shih Hsin will take care of each other; when I attend film festivals or have academic exchanges, people are always nice to me if they know I come from Shih Hsin University.

LEONG Tuck-fai, a former vice chairman of Shih Hsin University Alumni Association Malaysia Chapter, had been devoted himself to the association work. He would always showed up to promote Shih Hsin University when there were University Expos every year in Malaysia. He hopes that the excellent teaching of Shih Hsin University would nurture more talents and he will persist in film production.

In LEONG Tuck-fai’s Amphibian Life, he describes people who go back and forth every day between Malaysia and Singapore as amphibians. They adjust themselves to adapt to the working and living environment. They would get lost in their live if they don’t pay attention to it.
LEONG Tuck-fai did his best in devoting himself to alumni association. He always shows up in the University Expo to promote Shih Hsin University.

回饋表單




Scroll Up Feedback

世新大學-2019金馬創投 世新大馬校友梁德輝《雙棲動物》入選

世新大學
梁德輝
馬來西亞

梁德輝 來自: 馬來西亞 畢業學校: 世新大學 任職於電影產業,擔任電影導演
梁德輝執導的短片《第一志願》曾揚威海外多個影展,今年則以最新企劃《雙棲動物》入圍金馬創投

2019金馬創投會議今年共有來自15個國家及地區的電影企劃計382件報名,最終共有40件全新企劃脫穎而出。而大馬共有3個企劃中選,包括梁德輝LEONG Tuck-fai的《雙棲動物》Amphibian Life、Kyo莊仲維Kyo CHEN的《失踪》Hilang及顏佑龍Sky GAN Yu-long《在世外桃源塗鴉的日子》Cul De Sac,其中梁德輝正是畢業於世新廣電研究所的優秀校友。

梁德輝為世新廣播電視電影學系暨研究所碩士班校友,當時他的畢業作品《第一志願》I Love M.U.M,曾入圍多個國際影展,如今最新作品《雙棲動物》則以移工生態為主軸。他接獲《星洲娛樂》Sin Chew Daily電訪時開心表示,「很受鼓舞,這也是我首次入圍金馬創投,也將是我繼《第一志願》後的首部劇情長片。」他本身來自新山Bandaraya Bahru,父母曾到新加坡工作,讓他想探索馬勞甚至在馬外籍勞工欲尋求身分認同的心情。

 

從小不愛數學 老師鼓勵下意外踏上電影路

梁德輝並非從小就懷著導演夢,之所以踏上電影製作這條路,不過是一次無心插柳的升學選擇。他笑言,當年中學畢業之後,他沒有任何升學想法,最後是在母親說服下,加上想與心儀女生有志同道合的話題,所以選擇修讀大眾傳播系。

他指出,在就讀大眾傳播系期間,接觸了攝影及電視電影製作,從此對拍攝產生了濃厚的興趣。「我不喜歡數學,所以攝影或拍攝符合了『無需算數』的標準,加上老師不斷鼓勵我,漸漸地推動我走向這一步。」

而在往台灣留學之前,梁德輝也曾在一間節目製作公司實習,那次的實習經驗,更讓他有感而發,並下定決心要朝導演路前進。「那時候,有一名監製問我,最想做的職位是什麼?由於我當時在拍攝短片就是擔任導演一職,就隨口說了一句『導演』,並稱最欣賞的對像是李安,沒想到卻被對方很不客氣地『修理』。」

 

向李安致敬 赴台念世新廣電一圓導演夢

「當時心有不甘,就下定決心要朝導演的路走,並希望有朝一日能夠讓對方看到我的成就。」為了開拓視野、證明自己的能力,梁德輝赴台深造,通過雙聯課程到世新大學念廣電系電視組,畢業後回馬工作兩年,但深感影視幕後工作一成不變,為了提升思維,2010年重回世新修讀廣電研究所。回憶起當時在世新所學,梁德輝表示:「學校所學的,對我在職場上有相當大的幫助,讓我把相關基礎打好,工作應付起來也能較快適應。」

於世新修讀期間,替梁德輝打下深厚基本功,也讓他在業界陸續接下許多案子,談起母校,梁德輝的神情仍滿是驕傲。「畢業後無論我身處在哪個工作,都會遇到學長姐、學弟妹,知道他們都來自世新,大家都會相互照應;出席一些影展或學術交流時,對方知道我來自世新,也都會給予不錯的禮遇。」

而曾擔任大馬校友會副會長的梁德輝,對校友會的貢獻亦是不遺餘力,每次世新赴馬招生,他總是義不容辭出席站台,大力宣傳母校,盼透過世新卓越教學培育出更多優秀後進,而電影製作也是他認定將持續堅持走下去的路。

梁德輝的電影企劃《雙棲動物》把每天往返馬新工作生活的人比喻成雙棲動物,需時刻調適自己來適應環境、職場及生活,稍不費心就會被生活吞噬掉
梁德輝對校友會貢獻不遺餘力,總是義務出席站台替世新宣傳

回饋表單




Feedback