University of Taipei – Promoting Diversified International Activities through an Anniversary Celebration as a Starting Point

University of Taipei
-Promoting Diversified International Activities through an Anniversary Celebration as a Starting Point

Country:USA、Japan、Sweden、Italy、Czech Republic、China Partner:Georgia College & State University, USA; Indiana University of Pennsylvania, USA; Hokkaido University of Education, Japan; Halmstad University, Sweden; University of Rome “Foro Italico,” Italy; Technical University of Liberec, Czech Republic; Shanghai University, China; Nanjing University, China Type of Cooperation: International Exchanges Since:2018

Case Feature

  • International Symposium on Globalization and Higher Education--Presidential Forum
  • Lectures for faculty and students
  • A student's oil painting received recognition and encouragement
In 2018, a Visit of Hokkaido University of Education to the Department of English Instruction at the University of Taipei

Founded in 1895, the University of Taipei is the oldest higher education institution in Taiwan. The University of Taipei was established by merging two universities, Taipei Municipal University of Education and Taipei Physical Education College. Since the merging, the university has aimed to be a world-class comprehensive university and continue to attract top students.

 

In order to further promote the university, we have actively participated in international conferences, education exhibitions, and exchanges with universities around the world for the past few years. We have strengthened and promoted our international image and diversified learning environment. We hope to develop students’ global perspective and to be in line with international standards, helping students with their future careers.

 

In 2018, the University of Taipei invited some Presidents, Vice Presidents, Deans of the Office of International Affairs of our partner universities to come to Taiwan to join the celebration of the 123rd anniversary. The celebration events included a symposium entitled “International Symposium on Strategies of Internalization in Higher Education.” Another symposium, “International Symposium on Globalization and Higher Education,” was held in 2019. The symposiums provided an opportunity for our distinguished guests from the partner institutions to discuss and present their perspectives on higher education. Presenters include Prof. Haruo Jaana, President of Hokkaido University of Education, giving a presentation on “Educational Leadership in a Global Context,” and Prof. Costas Spirou, Vice President of the Georgia College & State University, giving a presentation on “Globalization and the Role of the Liberal Arts in Higher Education.”

 

In 2018, the university invited the faculty of several departments to join in the discussion. In 2019, the university invited students as well as the faculty, hoping to further strengthen internationalization of the university.

 

Other than the symposium, the university held seminars based on expertise of the invited guests and the faculty of UT. Prof. Oga Kyoko from Hokkaido University of Education gave a presentation on “English Education in Hokkaido University of Education,” and Prof. Timothy S. Moerland, Vice President of the Indiana University of Pennsylvania, gave a talk on “International Cooperation in Nature Science.” The university also invited the distinguished guests to provide other lectures. Department tours were arranged by students and professors of their respective department and meetings regarding the possibilities of dual-degree programs, study abroad programs and other related activities were held. These interactions provided opportunities for our students to develop global perspectives.

 

In 2018, during the visit to the Department of Visual Arts, Prof. Steve M. Dorman, President of the Georgia College & State University, showed interest in an oil painting painted by one of the students in the department. The student introduced the artwork to the President. His presentation and the artwork received the President’s recognition and encouragement. The artwork was then purchased and placed in the Office of President at Georgia College & State University. In addition, during the anniversary celebration, the diverse handcrafted products designed by the students of the visual arts department were also popular among guests of our partner universities. The events increased the interaction not only among professors, but also between students and professors.

 

The guests visiting for the anniversary of the University of Taipei include presidents and deans from Hokkaido University of Education in Japan, Georgia College and State University in the United States, Indiana University of Pennsylvania in the United States, Halmstad University in Sweden, University of Rome “Foro Italico” in Italy, Technical University of Liberec in Czech Republic, Shanghai University in China, and Nanjing University in China. The anniversary was attended by 30 distinguished guests from the above universities.

2018 Presidential Forum
A group photo of the professors from Georgia College & State University with the oil paintings by Zhu from UT.

回饋表單




Scroll Up Feedback

臺北市立大學-以校慶為起點締造多元國際活動

臺北市立大學
– 以校慶為起點締造多元國際活動

合作國家:美國、日本、瑞典、義大利、捷克、中國 合作學校:喬治亞學院與州立大學(美國)、賓州印第安納大學(美國)、北海道教育大學(日本)、哈爾姆斯塔德大學(瑞典)、義大利可弗羅羅馬體育大學(義大利)、利貝雷茨科技大學(捷克)、上海大學(中國)、南京大學(中國) 交流形式: 國際交流 交流開始年份:2018

交流亮點

  • 國際研討會:「全球化與高等教育國際研討會」-「校長論壇」
  • 院系師生交流講座:人文藝術學院、理學院
  • 本校學生優秀油畫創作揚名海外
2018年北海道教育大學與英語教學系交流

臺北市立大學成立於1895年,為臺灣歷史最悠久的高等學府,臺北市立教育大學及臺北市立體育學院合併,正式定名為臺北市立大學,配合國家政策將兩所大學進行整併後,朝向世界級的綜合型大學前進,繼續吸引全球最頂尖的學子。
本校為了在各領域繼續向前拓展,近年積極參與國際會議、教育展、與國際各校交流,強化學校內的國際多元學習環境,期望給予學生充足的世界觀並與國際接軌,幫助學生未來能拓展到全球開創自己的事業。
2018年,臺北市立大學為慶祝123年校慶,邀請了多間國際校院之校長、副校長、國際長等赴臺,藉此機會也舉辦「校長論壇」,以「高等教育國際化戰略國際研討會」為主題,隔年(2019年)更以「全球化與高等教育國際研討會」為主題,邀請各校貴賓分享關於國際教育之不同角度,例如由北海道教育大學校長蛇穴治夫分享「全球脈絡下的教育領導」、由喬治亞學院與州立大學學術副校長Prof. Costas Spirou分享「全球化與博雅教育在高等教育中之功能」等不同國際高教議題。
2018年的研討會我們邀請系所師長共同參與,2019年我們更邀請學生一同參與,大大提升本校師生國際觀,與國際教育接軌。
除「校長論壇」外,我們針對各校貴賓之專長,邀請貴賓與本校的系所師長交流分享,例如:北海道教育大學的大賀京子教授至英語教學系分享「北海道教育大學之英語教育」、美國賓州印第安納大學副校長Prof. Timothy S. Moerland至地球環境暨生物資源學系分享「自然科學之國際合作」等,也安排貴賓對本校師生開設相關講座,由系所師生帶領參觀各院系,進一步洽簽雙聯學制、遊學等實質活動,提升本校師生國際觀。
2018年喬治亞學院與州立大學校長Prof. Steve M. Dorman於本校視覺藝術系參觀時,因對其中一幅由本校朱同學創作之油畫畫作深感興趣,便與同學討論其創作緣由,最終購入該作品並置於喬治亞學院與州立大學校長室,以表揚鼓勵該生;此外於校慶活動期間,本校學生創作的多樣化商品、手工藝品等,也深受姊妹校貴賓喜愛,讓交流活動不局限於師長間的對談,更讓本校學生直接參與國際交流,締造了多元豐富的活動。
本校校慶活動來訪姊妹校計有:喬治亞學院與州立大學(美國)、賓州印第安納大學(美國)、北海道教育大學(日本)、哈爾姆斯塔德大學(瑞典)、義大利可弗羅羅馬體育大學(義大利)、利貝雷茨科技大學(捷克)、上海大學(中國)、南京大學(中國),囊括歐亞美洲,約30名國際校院貴賓參與。

2018年 「校長論壇」研討會
喬治亞學院與州立大學師長與本校朱同學及其油畫畫作合影

回饋表單




Feedback