Hand in Hand for a Win-Win Future: International Collaborations between Ming Chi University of Technology and the University of Cincinnati

Ming Chi University of Technology
Hand in Hand for a Win-Win Future: International Collaborations between Ming Chi University of Technology and the University of Cincinnati

Country:The United States of America Partner:The University of Cincinnati Type of Cooperation: Joint Dual-Degree Program Overseas Research Program(Includes Exchange Students, Short-term Studies, and Internships) Since:2016

Case Feature

  • Partnership between MCUT and UC for Mutual Benefits
  • The Cooperative Program of Double Master’s Degrees Broadening the International Vision of Students and Opening the Gate to Internship Opportunities in the States
  • The Overseas Industrial Practical Seminar and Service Project for Faculty Members Strengthening Their Instructional Skills with the Latest Global Trends
The Visit of Provost Cherng-Min Ma and Director Winnie Li of the Center of International Affairs to students participating in the program at the University of Cincinnati

In 2016, Ming Chi University of Technology established a partnership and signed an agreement with the University of Cincinnati to cooperate on the program of double master’s degrees targeted towards students of engineering-related majors. This means that students are able to take classes at both MCUT and UC to earn two master’s degrees within the span of just two years. This move has gradually become a popular goal pursued by the MCUT students.
The University of Cincinnati (UC) is a public university located in the State of Ohio, USA; the university has been cultivating many talented individuals throughout its 200-year history. According to the 2019 U.S. News & World Report, the University of Cincinnati is ranked 196th in global universities. The partnership between MCUT and UC helps students open doors to the world through solid education from both universities; additionally, this will allow the MCUT students to visit and study in the States when they are still young.
As a student who completed the program, Chen Yi-Hung expressed his gratitude for the help that MCUT gave him in arranging and assisting him to complete his university and graduate studies, earning his master’s degree at UC and finding a job in the USA. The university had implemented a “Practical Sandwich Education” so that while in school, students can prioritize experiencing work environments, improving their professional skills, and looking for overseas internship opportunities. He adds that he was fortunate enough to be granted the internship opportunity at a company in Texas during his junior year. During that year, the university arranged for a comprehensive, fully-paid internship program and that actual work allowed him to, not only, apply his knowledge into practice, but also to understand how the company operated. He also learned to develop a good work attitude, which helped him build a deeper understanding of integrating theory and practice. During his internship, he met many exchange students and soon began to consider studying in the USA. Before the conclusion of his internship, he found out about the double master’s degrees program from MCUT and UC and understood that it was far more advantageous to apply to that program than searching for a graduate program on his own, so he became more determined in this goal. Upon returning to the university for his senior year, he began to improve his professional knowledge and worked hard on his English skills. Finally, he was fortunate enough to be accepted to the master’s program at UC and achieved his dream of studying abroad. Mr. Chen also stated that things were very difficult when he first went to UC as he needed to adapt to a different style of education and language environment; he had to take care of all matters of his life and these challenges helped him become, even, more independent. Like Ming-Chi, UC offers a coveted paid internship co-op program as it also where paid internships began in the USA; UC also offers an internship fair, in which many well-known USA companies would participate in. While interviews did not go as expected in the first semester, Mr. Chen converted his obstacles into a greater drive and successfully earned an internship opportunity in the second semester. The well-paid internship helped him save on tuition and more importantly let him accumulate work experience. At the end of the internship, Mr. Chen was able to complete his reports and graduation requirements to earn his two master’s degrees from MCUT and UC, including finding a full-time job in the USA. Finally, Mr. Chen states that this is all thanks to MCUT for providing comprehensive resources and subsidizing some of his overseas study costs which have helped him achieve his limitless potential.
Currently, Ming Chi University of Technology has 8 students, from the School of Engineering, participating in the program and have obtained two master’s degrees; one student has even taken the initiative to stay in the USA to pursue a Ph.D. Aside from Chen Yi-Hung, the remaining students have also found great work opportunities in different industries. The program is proven to improve student’s language skills, expand their international perspective and thinking while giving them broader opportunities in the future.
In addition to the student-focused cooperation of both universities, MCUT and UC have also strived to create more diversified models of cooperation. The Overseas Industry Practical Seminar and Service Project led by Head Researcher, Dr. Kevin Liu arranged for 40 professors to travel to the University of Cincinnati in the summers of 2017 and 2018 to attend 3-4 week seminars. The seminars covered themes such as “Practical Industrial Applications of Data Science and Big Data Analytics” and “AI and Machine Learning”. In addition to selecting suitable candidates from within the university, the program was open for applications and professors from Chang Gung University of Science and Technology, National Taipei University of Technology, and National Taipei University of Business also attended the program. It not only encouraged professors to go abroad to improve their learning skills to keep up with the latest trends in international academic research but also allowed them exchanges with foreign scholars and a better understanding of issues and development trends from specific fields and industries. The program strengthened the professors’ teaching methods, skills, and increased their teaching ability in the hopes of integrating innovative teaching methods into their courses after they return.
The goal of education at Ming Chi University of Technology is to cultivate hardworking individuals, with down-to-earth attitudes and are adepts of both theory and practice in their quest for life-long learning; we believe these types of individuals are prioritized by corporations during recruitment. Through academic and cultural exchanges with our sister university abroad, we not only solidify this alliance but also work together to cultivate cross-disciplinary and international talents for our societies. The goals and spirit will be forever sustainable!

A Seminar hosted by Oxana Prokhorova, Director of the Center for Global Affairs, the University of Cincinnati on the double master’s degrees program at Ming Chi University of Technology
Group photo of a team of professors from Ming Chi University of Technology attending the Overseas Industrial Practical Seminar and Service Project at the University of Cincinnati

回饋表單




Feedback

明志科技大學-明志科大攜手辛辛那提,師生合作創造雙贏

財團法人明志科技大學
明志科大攜手辛辛那提,師生合作創造雙贏

合作國家:美國 合作學校:辛辛那提大學 交流形式: 雙聯學位 海外研修(含交換學生、短習研習、實習) 交流開始年份:2016

交流亮點

  • 明志與辛辛那提大學攜手,國際交流合作無間
  • 臺美碩士雙學位制給學生見識世界的機會,開啟通往美國工作的大門
  • 教師海外深度研習,掌握國際趨勢精進教學反饋學生
馬成珉教務長及國際事務中心李潔嵐主任親赴辛辛那提大學訪視雙聯學生

明志科大與美國辛辛那提大學於2016年締結姊妹校也同時簽署工程學院碩士雙學位合作協議,意味著明志學生不僅可於本校修課,同時也可以赴美修課以獲取兩校的碩士學位,而此雙碩士學位最短僅需花費兩年的時間即可獲得,此舉已逐漸成為學子們孜孜追求的目標。
辛辛那提大學(University of Cincinnati, UC)是位於美國俄亥俄州的一所公立大學,創立迄今已有200年之歷史,更為當地培育出許多優秀人才,根據2019年的美國新聞與世界報導,辛辛那提大學為全球排名第196名的大學。明志與UC的合作為明志學生打開通往世界之門,除了在兩校紮實的課程學習,更為明志學生創造在年輕時就能壯遊美洲國家的機會。
於UC修讀完雙聯學位並獲得在美工作的陳毅鴻同學表示,從大學讀到研究所再到出了社會工作後,真的很感謝明志用心的安排及協助。學校落實「三明治式實務教學」,讓學生於大學時期即優先體驗職場環境、增進專業實務技能,更提供了海外的實習機會。而自己有幸在大三的實習課程中獲得美國德州的企業實習機會,在那一年裡,學校安排了完善的全薪實習課程,透過實際工作,不僅能將所學知識應用於實務上,從實習單位中了解公司運作並培養良好的工作態度,對於理論與實務的結合也有了更深的體認。因為實習時認識許多留學生,讓自己也有了到美國念書的想法。實習結束前得知明志與UC的雙聯學制,了解透過學校申請雙聯學制比自行申請國外研究所有更多的優勢,因而更加堅定目標。大四返校後除了強化學習專業知識外,更汲於提升自己的英文能力,最後也很幸運的申請到UC的研究所,一圓自己的留學夢。而陳同學也表示,在UC就學初期碰到不少瓶頸,除了要適應全然不同的教學方式和語言環境,生活上的所有事務更要全權自理,全方面的挑戰讓人得以更加獨立自主。此外UC令人嚮往的還有跟明志一樣採用了帶薪實習的教育機制(Co-op program),更是美國帶薪實習教育的發源地,UC也提供實習的就業博覽會,其中參與的廠商更不乏美國知名企業。雖首學期面試不如預期,但在將阻力換為精進自己更大的動力下,於第二學期順利的得到實習的機會,薪資待遇不僅優於省下的學費,更有助於工作經驗的累積,因此最後在實習結束、完成報告及所有畢業要求後,順利取得明志與UC的雙碩士文憑,更獲得了美國全職的工作機會。陳同學最後表示,這一切真的非常感謝明志提供相當完善的資源,更補助了學生出國研修的部份費用,因而創造出自己的無限可能。
明志目前已有八名工程學院學生參與此計畫並確實取得兩校學位,其中一位同學更續留美國攻讀博士學位,除陳毅鴻同學獲得美國工作外,其餘學生亦於業界覓得絕佳的工作機會。此行不僅提升學生的語文能力、拓展國際視野及思考層次,對於其未來的出路也更加寬廣了。
此外,除了針對學生的雙聯合作協議外,明志亦與UC建立更為多元的合作模式。在劉豐瑞研發長主導的教師海外產業實務研習及深耕服務計畫中,於2017、2018年暑期相繼安排共40名教師親赴辛辛那提大學展開為期3-4週的研習,先後研習的主題分別為「資料科學與大數據分析之產業實務應用」、「人工智慧與機器學習」,除了從校內遴選合適的教師外,亦開放外校教師申請,長庚科大、北科大、北商大皆有教師共同參與該計畫。此舉不僅鼓勵教師出國精進教學與國際學術研究趨勢接軌,透過研習與國外學者的交流能掌握特定產業領域議題及發展趨勢,加強了教師授課教學方法與技巧,以提升教師授課能力,於計畫結束後更能將創新教學方法融入各領域課程之中。
明志以培養具備勤勞樸實態度、理論與實務並重及終身學習能力之人才為教育目標,持續被相關企業列為徵才時的首選。透過與多所海外姊妹校在學術與文化間的交流,不僅更加鞏固與姊妹校友好的聯盟關係,更共同為社會培育跨領域且跨國際的產業人才努力,而此目標及精神將永久延續!

辛辛那提大學全球事務處主任秀莎女士至明志科大辦理雙聯學制說明會
由明志科大主導之教師海外產業實務研習及深耕服務計畫於辛辛那提大學合影

回饋表單




向上滑動 Feedback