Study Exchange Program between NKUHT and University of Birmingham in UK

National Kaohsiung University of Hospitality and Tourism
Study Exchange Program between NKUHT and University of Birmingham in UK

Country:England Partner:University College Birmingham Type of Cooperation: Overseas Research Program(Includes Exchange Students, Short-term Studies, and Internships) Since:2007

Case Feature

  • Study Exchange at Birmingham University College, UK, for students to see the world
  • Different from the experience of traditional education, requiring self-discipline learning
  • Being independent during the internship period and preparing for future before graduation
Group discussion notes in class

Highlight 1—Experiencing a different learning environment

Under the regular education environment in Taiwan, teachers often pay close attention to the students’ class work and reports, but the British education model is different from the regular education in Taiwan. Teachers in the UK will only tell you when the assignments, mid-term reports, and final reports should be submitted in the first week of class. Next, students will rely on themselves to study and write report. Many tasks, such as what books the teacher recommends, making an appointment with instructors by e-mails to discuss the direction of the report, making an appointment for the consulting service, arranging the schedule and progress of each study, and submitting the report at the end, should be completed by yourself. No teacher keeps reminding you in class. No one urges you to submit reports and homework. If the time is up, you will automatically get zero points if you don’t upload a report. This can be said to be another kind of “self-discipline education.”
Through this kind of “self-discipline education”, I learned more about how to allocate time effectively, such as “when should I complete this report”, “before going out for fun, the progress of the report should be done so that it will miss the deadline.”

 

Highlight 2 —Experiencing a different education system

I have two courses in the UK: one is a large-scale lecture course with more than 50 people, and the other is a discussion class with 8-10 people after the large-scale lecture. In my understanding of the large-scale lecture, the teacher first began to “forcibly pass on knowledge”, and immediately answered questions in this class if there were any questions. The small discussion class after the lecture is more like “What do you think of this class” or after reading the extended material, the teacher asks you: “Do you have anything you want to say?”Group discussions can allow the teacher to better take care of everyone and provide more opportunities for interaction and communication.

 

Highlight 3 —Learn to adopt to an unfamiliar environment / take care of yourself

Since this exchange program is a 6-month course study and a 6-month off-campus internship, you need to find your favorite internship location after finishing the courses. During this period, you need to find the internship location and prepare in advance during the course so that you will not be caught off guard after the course is over. When looking for an internship location, you need to write a formal E-mail to ask interested companies, you need to decide where you want to intern, you need to prepare your own interview, prepare your resume and you need to be prepared to where you can temporarily settle after you can’t live in the school dormitory. There are many things you need to do on your own. At this time, all the school can provide is to make an appointment for internship discussion, help you look at your resume and give you some internship suggestions. If you are in Taiwan where it is the all-Chinese environment, it may be easier to adapt to. However, you are in the United Kingdom, where you are not familiar with, and they have to speak in English. Therefore, during this period, I learned more about how to slowly adapt to this society, how to go door-to-door and face the intern company to introduce myself, and how to refuse.

Warwick Castle, a travel with international students to the medieval castle and surrounding towns
Classes in simulated aircraft cabin

回饋表單




Feedback

國立高雄餐旅大學與英國伯明罕大學學院研修交流

國立高雄餐旅大學
國立高雄餐旅大學與英國伯明罕大學學院研修交流

合作國家:英國 合作學校:英國伯明罕大學學院 交流形式: 海外研修(含交換學生、短習研習、實習) 交流開始年份:2007

交流亮點

  • 英國伯明罕大學學院交換研修,帶領學生看世界觀點
  • 有別傳統教育學習模式體驗,要求自律學習負責
  • 實習期間獨立自主,在畢業前學習對未來規劃做準備
上課小組討論筆記

交流亮點一 — 體驗不一樣的學習模式

在一般教育模式下,師長往往都會密切關注著學生的課堂作業以及報告,但英國的教育模式有別於一般。英國的老師只會在課堂上的第一週就開始告訴你在什麼時間點應該提交什麼內容的作業,期中報告以及期末報告。接來下,就是全靠自己自律學習作報告了。從該看老師推薦的什麼書,E-mail和導師預約討報告方向,預約學校的報告技巧諮詢服務,安排每次學習的時間以及進度到最後的查重提交報告都必須全靠自己。沒有老師在課堂上不斷叮嚀,沒有人督促你提交報告及作業,時間到了沒有上傳報告你就是自動零分。這可以說也是另類的一種 「自律教育」。
透過這種「自律教育」,我學到更多的是如何有效分配時間,比如「什麼時候該完成這份報告」,「出去玩之前報告進度應該做到那裡才不會趕不上」 。

 

交流亮點二 — 體驗不一樣的教育模式

我在英國上課的課堂分為兩種:一種是大型超過50人以上的講堂課程,另一種是在大型講堂課結束後的8—10人討論課堂。大型講堂在我的理解上就是老師先開始「強行灌輸知識」,有問題就馬上在這堂課發問。在結束後的小型討論課堂則比較像是「對這堂課你有什麼看法」或是在看過延伸資料後,老師問你:「你有什麼想說的嗎?」,小組式的討論課堂可以讓教師團隊更好地照顧到每一個人以及提供更多互動交流的機會。

 

交流亮點三 — 在陌生的環境學會讓自己長大/照顧好自己

由於這次的交換計劃是為期6個月的課程學習以及6個月的校外實習,所以在結束課程部分之後需要自己尋找喜歡的實習單位。在這期間需要讓自己學會提早在上課的期間規劃好想要的實習單位並提前做準備才不會在課程結束之後措手不及。尋找實習工作期間,需要自己寫正式E-mail詢問有興趣的公司,需要自己決定要在什麼地方實習,需要自己準備面試,準備履歷,準備在不能住在學校宿舍之後該到哪裡暫時落腳,需要自己找房子/約時間看房子,需要做的太多太多…。而此時學校能提供的就只有預約實習對談,幫你看一看履歷以及給你一些實習上的建議。若此時在台灣全中文的環境可能還比較好適應,但別忘了此時此刻人是身在人生地不熟的英國,全都得用英文。因此在這期間我學到更多的是怎麼去慢慢適應這個社會,怎麼去挨家挨戶面對想要的實習公司向他們推薦我自己,怎麼去學會拒絕。

華威城堡,與國際學生到中世紀風格城堡及周圍小鎮旅遊
模擬飛機客艙教室上課

回饋表單




Feedback