National Kaohsiung University of Hospitality and Tourism– Program with Swiss Education Group

National Kaohsiung University of Hospitality and Tourism
National Kaohsiung University of Hospitality and Tourism– Program with Swiss Education Group

Country:Switzerland Partner:Swiss Education Group Type of Cooperation: Overseas Research Program(Includes Exchange Students, Short-term Studies, and Internships) Since:2019

Case Feature

  • Being in a multilingual learning environment: The course is taught in English to improve English listening, speaking, reading and writing skills. You can also choose French or German for advanced study.
  • Understanding the use of multimedia teaching: The school provides digital equipment for students. Teachers also provide various channels for learning materials of digital teaching. Students have not only the classroom learning, but also the review after class.
  • Experiencing foreign multi-cultures and breaking the boundary of traditional thinking: Switzerland has a convenient geographic location on the European continent. Students can participate in different cultural activities, communicate with students and colleagues from different countries, get in touch with rich multiculturalism, increase experience and vision, and improve their competitiveness in the future workplace. By applying the knowledge and ability, students can learn European cuisine, challenge the creative ideas of various cuisines, and will not be limited by their own background and habits. All these will help improve their professional knowledge and skills.
In May of 2018, the principal and international director of NKUHT went to Switzerland to visit the Swiss Education Group (Left 2) Academic Director Ms Tanja Florenthal (Right 1) Chef Instructor Mr. Urs Schneiter (Left 1) Director of Strategic Partnerships Ms Tarsila Fercher Geis

National Kaohsiung University of Hospitality and Hospitality continued to expand new cooperation programs in European countries after signing the overseas training and internship program with the Hague Hotel School in the Netherlands in 2015 and the Florence University of the Arts in Italy in 2016.In May of 2018, the head of the school led a team to visit the Swiss Education Group (SEG) in Europe, and signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) to establish affiliated schools.

 

The Swiss Education Group consists of five well-known colleges and universities in Switzerland, with a total of seven campuses. Through the cooperation program of both parties, the students of our school will interview with the Swiss Education Group and the internship will be assigned according to the professional field of the original study. They will first study in the Swiss Education Group for half a year and then intern in the Swiss industry for half a year. Swiss Hotel Management School (SHMS) and Culinary Arts Academy Switzerland (CAAS) are the main schools for the study.

 

Swiss Hotel Management School is located in the French-speaking Caux campus (the campus was previously a five-star hotel with a century-old history) and the Leys in campus (this campus was previously a famous five-star sports club resort hotel); Culinary Arts Academy Switzerland is located in Le Bouveret, the French-speaking area, and Lucerne, the German-speaking area. The faculty of these two schools is all experienced hotel management experts and award-winning international executive chefs or Michelin chefs.

 

During the enrollment period of the new Swiss program, many students decided not to participate in the selection of this program due to the tuition fees (about NT$9.5-1.2 million). However, because students will obtain a Swiss Diploma after passing all the courses, students are still attracted to apply. After the draft in March of 2019, a total of five students from our school went to the Swiss Education Group. In July of 2019, two students to Culinary Arts Academy Switzerland and the other three went to Swiss Hotel Management School in September of the same year for study and internship. Later, due to the epidemic of Covid-19, in March 2020, the original internship restaurant and hotel were temporarily closed. As a result, students only completed 1-2 months of internship and were forced to suspend the internship.

 

Regarding the study experience in the first half of the year, student Wei-Jie Ou from the hotel management department who participated in the program said that the Swiss Hotel Management School courses focus on the professional field of the hospitality industry, and theory and practice are both emphasized, covering hotel operation and administrative management knowledge. The course covers hotel operation and administrative management knowledge, and also integrates business management, exhibition and banquet management. Through actually holding banquets, theme parties and other different activities, students can apply what they have learned. In addition, school education also puts great emphasis on group reports. In the course, the students’ favorite course is Management Project, proposing a plan to build a new hotel from the very beginning. The content of the proposal is a combination of Managerial Accounting and Facility Design Management. Students can use their creativity to construct a new hotel. They also have to calculate all the costs of the hotel proposal and how to use the floor plan to arrange the space. It examines the team work for the team members, which is very impressive.

 

Another student, Xiang-Tian Lin from the Hotel Management Department, also said that the Swiss Hotel Management School will give each student a tablet, and all the presentations and homework required for class will be submitted electronically. The information needed for class, including textbooks, videos of preview courses, extra-curricular information and other materials is shared through an online system, which not only reduces a lot of paper consumption, but also saves energy and carbon to alleviate the burden of earth. If you want to review the content after class, you can view all the course materials by logging into the online system, which is very environmentally friendly and convenient.

 

In addition, Y-Qing Fan from the Program of International Culinary Arts shared her working experience as an intern at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois in Basel, Switzerland during an activity held by our school in October of 2020.The students are responsible for the work in the pastry area. The area is composed of a team of seven people. The chefs are from France and colleagues are from Germany. Therefore, there will be at least three languages in the kitchen area, making it full of fun every day. The menu is updated once a month and has different dessert themes. In addition to the normal desserts such as fruit tart, tiramisu, Paris Brest, etc., there will also be special dessert creative arrangements on special festivals, such as special chocolates for the Carnival and Easter eggs.

 

Switzerland’s hospitality education is internationally renowned. In addition to its long-standing hotel industry and excellent and professional education and training, it also has scenic tourist resorts and local specialties, which is quite useful for the internship of students. The more understanding of the current situation of the industry and the nurturing of sensory experience, the more help it can provide for the students. The school looks forward to continuing to plan for students to study overseas and internship programs after the epidemic of Covid-19 is alleviated, so that more students will have the opportunity to participate and expand the field of study and horizons. After returning to the country, the can pass on and share the training experience with new students.

NKUHT held an event for experience sharing in October of 2020 (3 students of Hotel Management Program came to the stage to share their experience)
In 2019, student Yi-Qing Fan from the National Culinary Program and Culinary Arts Academy Switzerland volunteered in kitchen at the Expo

回饋表單




Feedback

國立高雄餐旅大學與瑞士教育集團合作

國立高雄餐旅大學
國立高雄餐旅大學-與瑞士教育集團合作

合作國家:瑞士 合作學校:瑞士教育集團 交流形式: 海外研修(含交換學生、短習研習、實習) 交流開始年份:2019

交流亮點

  • 置身多語種的學習環境: 課程除以英語進行教學,加強英文聽說讀寫能力的訓練,還可選擇法語或德語的進修學習。
  • 認識多媒體教學的運用: 學校提供數位器材作為學生學習之用,教師亦透過數位化教學,提供不同管道的學習素材;學生不僅有課堂學習,也可以在下課後進行複習。
  • 體驗異國及多元文化,突破東方思維的框架: 瑞士擁有位在歐洲大陸的地利之便,學生可參加不同文化活動,與來自不同國家的同學及同事交流,接觸豐富的多元文化,增加經驗與視野,提升未來的職場上的競爭力。運用具備的知能,學習歐洲菜餚,挑戰各類料理的創意發想,不被自身背景及習慣所侷限,以提升自身專業知識與技能。
2018年5月高餐大校長及國際長赴瑞士拜訪瑞士教育集團

國立高雄餐旅大學繼2015年與荷蘭海牙旅館學校及2016年與義大利佛羅倫斯藝術大學簽訂雙方海外研修暨實習方案後,持續拓展歐洲國家的新合作方案。2018年5月本校主管率領團隊親自前往歐洲拜訪瑞士教育集團(Swiss Education Group, SEG),並簽訂Memorandum of Understanding (MOU),締結為合作姊妹校。

 

瑞士教育集團由瑞士境內五間著名的院校所組成,共計七個校區。本校學生透過雙方的合作方案,依原就讀科系之專業領域與瑞士學校進行面試與媒合後,先於瑞士校內研修半年,再於瑞士業界實習半年。瑞士旅館管理學校(Swiss Hotel Management School, SHMS)及瑞士廚藝學院(Culinary Arts Academy Switzerland, CAAS)為安排就讀的主要校院。

 

瑞士旅館管理學校位於法語區的Caux校區(該校區前身是一間有百年歷史的五星級旅館)及Leysin校區(此校區前身是一個著名的五星級運動會所度假旅館);而瑞士廚藝學院則是位於法語區Le Bouveret及德語區Lucerne。兩校師資團隊均為經驗豐富的旅館管理人才及獲獎無數的國際行政主廚、米其林主廚。

 

於該瑞士新方案的徵選期間,雖然有許多學生了解研修學費後(約臺幣95—120萬)決定不參加此方案的徵選;但在通過該校所有課程後,亦可獲得當地文憑(Swiss Diploma),因此仍吸引學生參加。經2019年3月之徵選,本校共計有五位同學前往瑞士學校,2019年7月兩位前往瑞士廚藝學院及三位於同年9月前往瑞士旅館管理學校研修及實習;後受新冠肺炎影響,2020年3月因原本實習的餐廳及旅館皆歇業暫無營運,導致學生僅完成1—2個月實習,即被迫中止實習合約。

 

對於前半年的研修學習經驗,參加方案的旅館管理系歐瑋捷同學表示,瑞士旅館管理學校課程內容針對餐旅產業專業領域,課程理論與實務並重,涵蓋旅館運作及行政管理知識,同時還結合商業管理和會展及宴會管理課程。透過實際舉辦宴會、主題晚會等不同活動,讓學生學以致用。此外,學校教育也非常重視團體分組報告。課程中,同學最喜歡的科目是專案計畫管理(Management Project),是一個從 0 開始建立新旅館的提案,提案內容融合了會計管理(Managerial Accounting)和設施設計管理(Facility Design Management) 兩門科目,學生們發揮自己的創意去構造一個新的酒店,還要計算飯店提案的所有費用,以及怎麼利用平面設計圖的方式做空間規劃,考驗著與組員間的團隊默契分工,令人印象十分深刻。

 

還有,國際廚藝學士學位學程范宜清同學於2020年10 月在本校所舉辦的薪火相傳活動中分享了她在瑞士巴塞爾Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois實習的工作經驗。學生負責糕點區工作,該區是由七個人組成的團隊,廚師來自法國,也有同事來自德國,因此廚房裡至少會有三種語言出現,可說是一個語言多元化的工作廚房,每天都充滿新鮮感。菜單每月會更新一次,且有不同的甜點主題,除了水果塔,提拉米蘇,巴黎布雷斯特等這些常態性的甜品外,在特殊的節日裡也會特殊的甜點創意安排。

 

有鑑於瑞士的餐旅教育在國際間享負盛名,除了擁有歷史悠久的旅館產業與卓越且專業的教育訓練外,還擁有景色優美的旅遊度假勝地及當地的特色美食,這對於學生實務餐旅產業現況了解的累積與感官體驗的薰陶,著實提供最有力的幫助。

2020年10月NKUHT舉辦薪火相傳活動 (3位旅館系同學上台分享瑞士方案)
2019年國廚學程范宜清同學與瑞士廚藝學院同學擔任博覽會廚房志工

回饋表單




Feedback