Dual-degree Programs: Drawing on International Connections to Expand the Opportunities for Students

National Changhua University of Education
Dual-degree Programs: Drawing on International Connections to Expand the Opportunities for Students

Country:USA School:CSU, Fresno, CSU, Sacramento, Kennesaw State University Cooperate Type: Joint Dual-Degree Program Start from:2010

Case Feature

  • NCUE's international resources help fulfill student's academic dreams
Professor in Information Technology of College of Computing and Software Engineering at Kennesaw State University, Svetlana Peltsverger and his team sign an MOU to launch a dual-degree program with NCUE

In response to the Ministry of Education’s focus on promoting the international development of Taiwanese colleges and universities and enhancing international competitiveness, the National Changhua University of Education (NCUE) has set internationalization as a key focus of its medium-term and long-term plans and listed “establishing dual-degree programs with partner universities overseas” as a critical objective for international development. The 8th and 9th President of NCUE, Yen-Kuang Kuo, stated that in order to achieve internationalization, NCUE is actively seeking to form partnerships with top universities around the world and continues to collaborate with the partners in the United States, Europe, and Asia to launch student exchange and dual-degree programs. NCUE also subsidizes a selected number of students to study abroad, strengthening the operation of teacher and student exchange, and cooperative programs with its partner universities. In addition, NCUE encourages the Graduate Institute of Education, Department of Guidance and Counseling, Department of Fine Arts, and Graduate Institute of Science Education to continue organizing overseas Master’s degree programs in Malaysia, thereby fueling the output of higher education and strengthening international cooperation. All the efforts NCUE put into have a great impact on broadening the worldview and enhancing the competitiveness of teachers and students, and improving the international visibility and rank of NCUE.

 

According to the 2020 University Impact Rankings formulated by Times Higher Education (THE) based on the SDGs of the United Nations, NCUE is ranked 66th worldwide and second in Taiwan. In addition, 36 Taiwanese universities were listed on the 2020 World University Rankings proposed by THE. Among the Taiwanese universities listed, NCUE ranked 19th, and NCUE and National Taiwan Normal University were only two normal universities. NCUE was ranked worldwide by subject in the 251-300 band for Education and in the top 800 for Natural Science, and Engineering and Technology. According to the university affairs information released by the Ministry of Education in 2019, the overall enrollment rate of NCUE was 96%, ranking 19th nationally. The 2019 QS Asian University Rankings ranked NCUE in the 301st-350th range. Thirty-six Taiwanese universities were on the list, and NCUE was ranked 28th. In the 2017-2018 Ranking of Taiwan’s Top Universities published in Global Views Monthly, NCUE was in the top 30 overall and 15th in the “liberal arts, law, and business” category. Among nearly 170 universities in Taiwan, NCUE ranks steadily in the top 30. In the fields of engineering and management, NCUE outperforms conventional normal universities and colleges. It also outperforms general universities in teacher training. These achievements show that NCUE’s self-positioning as “education-oriented cultivation of experts in humanities; research and development innovation and technology and business management refinement” is recognized by the world.

 

The dual-degree cooperation that NCUE has been promoting with partner universities in recent years is one of the main goals of NCUE’s international development policy. NCUE has achieved some marvelous results with it, benefiting the students greatly and helping them create more opportunities for the future.

 

Constructing an International Education Platform and Expanding the Possibilities of Student Development
NCUE became a partner university of Southern Polytechnic State University (SPSU) in 2010 and launched the first dual-degree program with the Department of Computer Science and Information Engineering of SPSU in 2012. Although SPSU merged with Kennesaw State University (KSU) in 2015, the dual-degree programs between NCUE and KSU continued.

 

Los Angeles, California, is a significant economic and academic hub. NCUE realizes the importance of this region in international development. Therefore, President Kuo Yen-Kuang led a delegation to California State University (CSU), Fresno, in 2012, to sign four MOUs and open channels of exchange between the universities’ several schools and departments. The MOUs lead to the launch of dual-degree programs in Guidance and Counseling, Physics, Business Management, Finance, Computer Science and Information Engineering, etc. The two universities have jointly created a shared General Education curriculum framework, which enables teachers to visit the other party to give lectures. They have also actively created the opportunities for graduate and PhD students to take visits to and do research at each other’s research institutes and laboratories. These exchanges contribute to NCUE’s medium-term and long-term international development strategies.

 

In addition to KSU and CSU, Fresno, NCUE’s Department and of Business Management signed an MOU to launch Bachelor’s and Master’s dual-degree programs with CSU, Sacramento, in 2017. The two parties expressed their interest in expanding their partnership with the Department of English, among others. There have been seven NCUE’s departments establishing dual-degree programs with three universities in the United States. As of 2019, 42 NCUE students have enrolled in the programs. Of which, 23 have obtained a dual degree. NCUE continues to promote dual-degree collaboration with universities in the United States, United Kingdom, and Japan, hoping to expand students’ opportunities to study abroad.

 

Turning Life Around and Entering the World Stage
NCUE student in Physics, Hsiao-Ching Li, expressed that enrolling in a dual-degree program provided her with the opportunity for international development. She had hoped to study abroad and become a physicist since she was a student at National Taichung Girls Senior High School. However, her grades and English proficiency were not competitive, and her family did not have the financial means to support her abroad. She could not help but temporarily give up her dream. The dual-degree program between NCUE and USC, Fresno, helped fulfill her dream. She was able to attain her degrees in two and a half years. Li said that she took advantage of the opportunities of the program to “Refining her language skills by traveling abroad”. Now, she can speak English fluently and is often mistaken for a girl growing up in the United States.

 

Hsiao-Ching Li met her mentor, Dr. Gregory Kriehn, at USC, Fresno, who trained her to become an outstanding researcher and became her emotional advisor. Dr. Kriehn taught her the value of life and how to interact with others. In the United States, Li had many more opportunities to realize her dreams than in Taiwan. She was later accepted to join a research team at the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN). After graduation, she became an admitted PhD student at the University of Colorado, Boulder – one of the top universities in Physics, fostering several Nobel laureates. Several of her Taiwanese classmates were graduates of National Taiwan University and National Tsing Hua University. She asserted that she would never have had such success if it were not for the dual-degree program, which allowed her to travel to the United States to attain her degree, make research contributions, and receive professional training and referral. Li also mentioned that the dual-degree program offered her a different channel for studying abroad rather than constraining her to conventional test-based education and academic progression. She was able to maximize her potential and be appreciated for being different.

Hsiao-Ching Li (front row, first from the right) was selected to join a CERN research team in Europe
Hsiao-Ching Li gives a presentation in class at CSU, Fresno

回饋表單




Scroll Up Feedback

國立彰化師範大學-雙聯學制:連結海外學術資源,豐富學生發展管道

國立彰化師範大學
雙聯學制:連結海外學術資源,豐富學生發展管道

合作國家:美國 合作學校:數所姊妹校 交流形式: 雙聯學位 交流開始年份:2010

交流亮點

  • 汲取國際資源,實現學術夢想
肯尼索州大資訊及軟體工程學院Dr. Svetlana Peltsverger 博士率團蒞校簽署雙聯學制合作計畫

國立彰化師範大學自教育部積極推動大學校院走向國際發展,提升大學國際競爭力時期,即主動推動校、各院、系所發展國際化,不僅將國際化訂為中長程計畫之發展重點項目,同時以「建立與國際友校之雙聯學制」為系所發展國際化目標之一。國立彰化師範大學第八、九任校長郭艶光表示,在國際化方面,彰化師大近年來積極拓展與國際名校之姊妹校關係,持續與美國、歐亞等合作之姊妹校持續推展學生交流及雙聯學制合作計畫;補助及選送學生赴海外研讀、加強姊妹校師生互訪、教學、合作計畫;鼓勵教育研究所、輔導與諮商學系、美術學系、科學教育研究所在馬來西亞持續辦理境外碩士班,續推高教輸出,強化國際合作有成,有效提升師生之國際視野與競爭力與彰化師大之國際排名與能見度。

 

根據英國《Times Higher Education泰晤士高等教育》依據聯合國永續發展指標SDGs公布2020年世界大學影響力排名(University Impact Rankings),彰化師大榮獲世界排名第66名,全臺灣排名第2名。另外,2020年泰晤士高等教育世界大學排名,臺灣共有36所大學進榜,彰化師大排名臺灣各大學的第19名,在師範及教育體系大學中,彰化師大與臺灣師大是唯二入榜的學校;其中,在「教育」領域方面,彰化師大排名在全世界第251至300名區間,自然科學與工程技術領域也都躋身世界前800名;而在教育部所公佈之108學年度各大專院校之校務資訊,彰化師大整體註冊率為96.00%,於全國所有大學中排名第19名。另根據2019年QS亞洲大學排名,彰化師大排名於301-350區間,臺灣共36所大學上榜,彰化師大位於第28名;此外,根據《遠見雜誌》「2017、2018臺灣最佳大學排行榜」,彰化師大排名前30,以及文法商類分榜排名第15名。在臺灣一百多所大學中,彰化師大穩定排名於前30名左右。因此,與傳統師範校院相比,彰化師大在工程、管理方面擁有優勢;相較於一般綜合大學,彰化師大在師資培育方面則具有獨特競爭力。顯見彰化師大「師範為本,教育人文拔尖;研發創新,科技商管精進」的自我定位已經獲得各界肯定。

 

近年積極尋求姊妹校合作推動的雙聯學制,為彰化師大國際化政策重要指標之一,目前已獲致初步成就,受惠的學生亦有令人驚艷的發展,為其前景開創更多可能。

 

構築國際教育平台,開創學生發展可能
彰化師大於2010年與美國南方州立理工大學(Southern Polytechnic State University)締結為姊妹校,並於2012年與該校資工系建立首次雙聯學制合作;該校於2015年與肯尼索州立大學(Kennesaw State University; KSU)併校,肯尼索州大並與彰化師大持續雙聯學制的合作。

 

彰化師大有鑑於美西加州洛杉磯地區為重要經濟及學術重鎮,有助於學校國際化進一步發展,因此2012年郭艶光校長率團赴美國加州州立大學弗雷斯諾(California State University, Fresno; USC, Fresno)分校訪問,同時簽署4項校際合作協定,開啟彰化師大各院、所、系進一步與該校廣泛交流之契機,包括促成輔諮、物理、企管、財金與資工等系所雙聯學制的合作;建立共通通識課程架構,兩校師長藉以赴對方校園開課講學,以及推動兩校碩、博士生團隊赴對方研究機構或實驗室訪問研究等,落實彰化師大國際化之中長程策略。

 

除了肯尼索州立大學及加州州立大學弗雷斯諾分校外,企管學系大學部及研究所於2017年再與位於美國加州首府的加州州立大學沙加緬度(Sacramento)分校簽署雙聯學制合作案,雙方並對合作計畫擴展至英語系等其他系所表達期待。目前彰化師大已有7個系所與美國3所大學合作辦理雙聯學制,截至108年度,共計42名彰化師大學生參與,已有23名學生取得雙聯學位。目前彰化師大仍持續推動與美、英、日等國姊妹校的雙聯合作計畫,並可望擴及更多校內系所,提供學子赴外深造的多元管道。

 

扭轉人生,走上世界舞台
彰化師大物理系學生李筱晴表示,雙聯學制讓她有一條不一樣的路走向國際。就讀台中女中時的她就有出國留學、成為物理學家的夢想,但她的在校成績及英文程度並不出色,加上家人無力供她赴美念大學的經費,她只得暫緩留學計畫;然而彰化師大的雙聯學制讓她有機會赴USC, Fresno實現她的留學夢,並在兩年半期間取到美國學位。李筱晴說,她掌握申請到就讀雙聯學制的機會,「先出國再精進語言」,現在她英文十分流利,在美國很多人誤以為她自小即移民美國。

 

李筱晴在USC, Fresno遇見恩師Dr. Gregory Kriehn,不但訓練她成為一名優秀的研究員,更是她的心靈導師,教她生命的意義與待人處事的態度;而她在美國求學,也比在臺灣多了很多實現夢想的機會。她指出,她受推薦赴歐洲核子研究組織(CERN)工作,並於大學畢業時直接申請到科羅拉多大學波德分校(University of Colorado, Boulder)博士班;這是物理界的頂尖的學府,物理所擁有四、五位諾貝爾獎得主,班上幾名來自臺灣的學生,也幾乎全是臺大或清大的研究所畢業生。李筱晴表示,如果不是因為雙聯學制,讓她擁有美國的大學文憑及豐富的研究成果,又受到專業領域資深教授的推薦,應該很難有現在的成就。她說,雙聯學制讓她可以利用不同的管道出國求學,而非侷限於注重考試或學業成績的升學制度,她因此得以發揮所長,也讓世界欣賞到她的與眾不同。

李筱晴同學(前排右一)被推薦赴歐洲核子研究組織CERN從事研究
李筱晴同學於CSU, Fresno課堂簡報

回饋表單

向上滑動Feedback