National Sun Yat-sen University-Stepping out of the Lab: Broaden the Scope of Knowledge via Overseas Internships

National Sun Yat-sen University
Stepping out of the Lab: Broaden the Scope of Knowledge via Overseas Internships

Country:Malaysia and Thailand Partner:Universiti Malaysia Terengganu and Mahidol University Type of Cooperation: Overseas Research Program(Includes Exchange Students, Short-term Studies, and Internships) Since:2017

Case Feature

  • Doing Experiments Abroad: Develop Adaptability in a Different Laboratory
  • Interdisciplinary Learning: Make the Best of Resources at Partner University
  • From Theory to Practice: Shorten the Gap with Industry
Prof. Yu-Chung Chiang (first from right) and Dr. Siti Nordahliawate Mohamed Sidique (middle)

Since 2017, Prof. Yu-Chung Chiang, the chair of the Department of Biological Science at National Sun Yat-sen University, along with other professors from the Department, has been actively cooperating student internship programs with Universiti Malaysia Terengganu (UMT), Mahidol University (MU) and local companies in Thailand. Through the overseas internship program, Prof. Chiang expects students to acquire new knowledge and skills and broaden their horizons at the same time.

 

With his research interest in the flora studies in East Asia, Prof. Chiang has a long-term collaboration with Dr. Siti Nordahliawate Mohamed Sidique from the Faculty of Fisheries and Food Science at the Universiti Malaysia Terengganu(UMT) on the topic of disease prevention for tropical fruit trees. To involve students in the research, Prof. Chiang and Dr. Nordahliawate agreed to open an internship program at UMP.

 

Doing Experiments Abroad: Develop Adaptability in a Different Laboratory
Ya-Ling Chu, a Ph.D. student in the Department of Biological Science, recalled that when she was in UMT for the internship, the biggest challenge was adjusting the way she did experiments, as the laboratories there were managed differently from Taiwan. At UMT, professors do not have their own laboratories; all labs are shared by faculty and students of the college or faculty. Designated administrators manage those labs, and students need to submit applications to use the labs. “The advantage of such system is to share the resources and reduce the waste of idle equipment,” said Ya-Ling, “but the disadvantage is that we can only do the experiments between 8 am to 5 pm when the administrator is at work.” In comparison, for most university laboratories in Taiwan, the time to use the laboratories is more flexible. “In Taiwan, we can continue the experiments until midnight, but at UMT, we need to try to improve our efficiency and control the time well; otherwise, we can’t complete the experiments on time,” Ya-Ling mentioned. If it were not for this overseas internship, Ya-Ling Chu would not have realized how the laboratory management difference influences the way she does the experiments. It is the difference that helps Ya-Ling Chu and other interns cultivate adaptability.

 

Besides, Ya-Ling Chu also noticed in Malaysia that students are proficient in English. She found out that Malaysian Chinese and Malays students “switch between Malay, Chinese or English as fluently as Taiwanese people switch between Mandarin and Taiwanese Minnan language.” Ya-Ling realized how little chance she has to speak English in Taiwan. Through this internship, she could seize the valuable opportunity to practice and improve her English and meet Malaysian friends and understand their culture. Before the internship, Ya-Ling only knew that most Malaysians are Muslim, but didn’t know much about the religion and the culture. Through this experience, she found that both the Muslim and Chinese students there were hospitable and friendly, and she could even play board games with them until midnight. To Ya-Ling, she not only improves her ability but builds friendships with Malaysian students. Both are great rewards to her from this experience.

 

For many years, Prof. Chiang has maintained long-term collaboration with overseas researchers on multiple international projects, which helps broaden and deepen research studies. Students can also be involved in the projects and contribute to the research. In addition to the disease prevention for tropical fruit trees, some UMP researchers specializing in mangrove ecology and sea turtle conservation plan to visit NSYSU for a study in fungi under the support of the New Southbound Talent Development Program. Prof. Chiang expects that through continuous academic cooperation, both sides can build solid research and provide students with opportunities for overseas experiences.

 

Interdisciplinary Learning: Make the Best of Resources at Partner University
Prof. Chiang also cooperates with professors and researchers at Mahidol University (MU) in molecular cell biology. Mahidol University is the most renowned university in Thailand for medical education. NSYSU’s College of Science and MU’s Faculty of Medicine Ramathibodi Hospital signed a double master’s and Ph.D. degree program in science, and there are frequent academic exchanges between both sides. Through the opportunity of the New Southbound Talent Development Program, NSYSU has been sending students for an internship program at MU in biomedical science. Chih-Ling Chung, a Ph. D. student in the Department of Biological Science joined the internship program at MU and observed how the researchers there did experiment with fresh tumor biopsy removed from patients in the hospital. Chih-Ling mentioned, “As we don’t have a hospital in NSYSU, it is difficult for us to get tumor biopsy for experiments.” Previously in the scholarly journals, Chih-Ling learned how tumor biopsy is handled in labs but didn’t have a chance to observe it in person. Through the internship, she got the chance, and this experience has helped her learn broader in the relevant field of her studies.

 

In addition to the hospital experience, Chih-Ling found that MU students speak more fluent English than most Taiwanese students do due to their English training – courses, assignments, reports and even lab notes are all conducted in English. As Chih-Ling doesn’t have any international classmates in her lab at NSYSU, she didn’t have much chance to speak English, but through this internship, Chih-Ling learns she has to create opportunities for herself to use English more often in her daily life.

 

From Theory to Practice: Shorten the Gap with Industry
Yu-Che Chiu and Li-Hsuan Chen from the Department of Marine Biotechnology and Resources happened to know the opportunity for the overseas internship from Prof. Chiang. While both students were about to start their undergraduate research on aquaculture, through the introduction of Prof. Yu-Chung Chiang, the two students applied for the internship at AMAZON INTERNATIONAL in Thailand – a successful aquaculture company with tens of fish farms. Yu-Che Chiu recalled that “as usually there is a gap between the academia and the industry, through this internship, we’d like to learn if the research we are about to start can finally help the industry.”

 

During the internship, different from the theoretical basis of aquaculture they had learned in classrooms, Yu-Che Chiu and Li-Hsuan Chen experienced the practical side of aquaculture by harvesting the fish in person and observing how the mud in the bottom of the fish farm was handled after the harvest. Both students found some fish might be scratched by the fishing net when it was towed during the harvest. While the scratched wounds can be easily infected with bacteria, if those wounded fish get infected and escape from the net, the other healthy fish will likely get infected, which forms a vicious cycle and influences the next harvest. As both students are interested in the research related to the problems aquaculture farmers encounter, they are confident about their research direction through this internship. They expect their research results can help the industry solve the problems. “We have been discussing the possibility of further cooperation. If we find probiotics that can solve the infection problem, we hope to test them in the fish farms. I believe this will bring advantages to both sides,” added Li-Hsuan Chen.

 

Through international academic exchanges and internships, students no longer limit their learning within the NSYSU campus. Instead, when they do internships abroad, their knowledge is expanded as they can access the resources at partner universities to deepen and extend their learning. Prof. Yu-Chung Chiang believes overseas internships bring many benefits to students and looks forward to continuous cooperation with partner universities to provide more opportunities to students.

PhD student Chih-Ling Chung doing her internship in the Faculty of Medicine Ramathibodi Hospital, Mahidol University
Yu-Che Chiu and Li-Hsuan Chen, doing their internships in an aquaculture company in Thailand

回饋表單




Scroll Up Feedback

國立中山大學-中山生科跨出實驗室 海外實習拓展學習領域

國立中山大學
中山生科跨出實驗室 海外實習拓展學習領域

合作國家:馬來西亞、泰國 合作學校:登嘉樓大學、瑪西敦大學 交流形式: 海外研修(含交換學生、短習研習、實習) 交流開始年份:2017

交流亮點

  • 台馬實驗室大不同 異國做實驗培養應變力
  • 姊妹校跨領域合作 海外見習收穫豐
  • 結合理論與實務 到國外實習拉近與產業的距離
江友中教授(右一)與登嘉樓大學Dr. Siti Nordahliawate Mohamed Sidique(中)合影

中山大學生物科學系主任江友中教授,偕同系上教授與老師,自2017年開始積極與馬來西亞登嘉樓大學(Universiti Malaysia Terengganu)、泰國瑪西敦大學(Mahidol University)及泰國當地企業合作學生實習計畫,鼓勵學生踏出自己的實驗室到國外實習,期待學生能從雙邊交流中獲得啟發,開創不同的視野。

 

中山大學生科系主任江友中教授,專攻東亞植物區系等研究,與登嘉樓大學漁業及食品科學學院(Faculty of Fisheries and Food Science)的Dr. Siti Nordahliawate Mohamed Sidique在熱帶果樹的疫病防治專題上,有長期的研究合作關係,於是與其討論安排學生前往實習的可能,最後決定以「矽營養液對火龍果之病害抑制分析」為專題,選派學生進行兩週短期的試驗分析工作。

 

台馬實驗室大不同 異國做實驗培養應變力
參與研究的生科系博士班朱雅玲同學回憶,在登嘉樓大學做實驗,遇到最大的挑戰是當地實驗室的管理方式與台灣不同,所以做實驗的習慣也必須跟著調整。登嘉樓大學遵循英國體制,教授沒有個人的實驗室,學生進行實驗時必須使用學院或系所的公共實驗室,且由專人管理,使用前必須事先提出申請。「好處是實驗室資源共享,在妥善的管理之下能減少浪費,」朱雅玲提到,「但缺點的話,就是實驗室的管理人員為上下班制,你只能在8點到5點之間做實驗。」相較之下,台灣的大學實驗室,在使用時間上普遍較有彈性。但朱雅玲也說,「在台灣做實驗,可能會昏天暗地做到11點、12點都有可能,在登嘉樓大學你會無形中想要提高效率,做好時間控管。」若不是這一趟的異國實習經驗,朱雅玲也許不會發現原來實驗室體制的差異,對於做實驗的方式有很大的影響,也是因為這樣的差異,讓朱雅玲和同行的同學培養出應變能力。

 

在實驗以外,朱雅玲也注意到在馬來西亞,學生的英文能力非常流利,當地有華人、也有馬來人,「當他們在切換馬來語、華語或英語的時候,其實就像我們國台語切換這樣子,非常流利。」朱雅玲體會到,因為在自己在研究或生活環境中缺乏運用英文溝通的機會,透過海外實習,不但可以把握寶貴的機會加強英語能力,更可以結識外國友人,認識不同的文化。在啟程前,朱雅玲只知道馬來西亞有部分族群信奉回教,但對於文化民情等不甚瞭解,這次在交流中見識到馬國學生的友善熱情,甚至可以與對方一起玩桌遊到三更半夜,也讓她感受到這趟實習,不論是在知識上或是友誼上的收穫,「皆是滿載而歸」。

 

多年下來,透過各項國際交流的計畫,江友中教授持續與國外學者建立長遠的合作關係,不僅深化雙邊的研究,也能帶領學生一同參與,為研究注入更多量能。江友中教授補充,不只是熱帶果樹疫病防治,馬來西亞登嘉樓大學也有學者專注於紅樹林生態系和海龜保育相關研究,在新南向計畫的支持下,願意在此COVID-19疫情未緩解的時期,來本系進行真菌相的研究議題。期待透過這樣持續性、雙向的國際學術合作,繼續增加研究的深度與廣度,也能提供學生更多國際參與的機會。

 

姊妹校跨領域合作 海外見習收穫豐
在農學以外,生物醫學也是生物科學系學生研究的領域之一。泰國瑪西敦大學是該國頂尖的醫學大學,該校醫學院與中山大學理學院簽有碩博士雙聯學位的合作關係,因此雙方學院系所之間交流頻繁。透過新南向計畫的機會,兩校也合作學生實習計畫,由生科系每年負責選送學生前往瑪西敦大學附屬拉瑪醫院(Faculty of Medicine Ramathibodi Hospital)見習生醫相關技術。就讀生科系博士班的鍾智聆,專攻細胞生物學相關領域,平常做實驗的model以細胞為主,這次前往瑪西敦大學實習,見識到對方如何以「從醫院得到的檢體」來做實驗。「他們醫院有一套流程,從手術室拿到檢體後,幾小時內要送到下一站,最後剩下的部分會送到實驗室來,這時候的檢體是剛從病人身上切下來,是最新鮮的」,鍾智聆解釋,「由於中山大學沒有附設醫院,比較難申請到檢體。」平時在論文上,鍾智聆會讀到關於檢體的應用,但未能有機會實際觀摩,這次到瑪西敦大學實習,能實地見識醫院如何做實驗、如何處理檢體,正是她決定參與這次實習的主要原因。

 

除了見習醫院做實驗的流程,鍾智聆提到這一趟實習最大的收穫,是在認識泰國當地朋友的同時,見識到當地學生良好的英文能力。和當地學生聊天的時候,鍾智聆得知他們的課程是以英文教學為主,作業、報告和實驗筆記,都是以英文書寫。由於自己的實驗室沒有外國同學,平常較少有運用英文的機會,到泰國實習,看到瑪西敦大學從大學生到博士生,跟外國人溝通都沒問題,而且非常熱情,鍾智聆也反思,平常應該更加把握機會增進英文能力。

 

結合理論與實務 到國外實習拉近與產業的距離
就讀海洋生物科技暨資源學系的陳立軒和邱于哲,在一次和生科系江友中教授會談的機會中,偶然得知新南向計畫的實習機會。兩位同學所學領域為海洋生物技術,當時也即將著手進行與養殖漁業相關的專題研究,經由江主任的引介,兩位同學前往在泰國當地經營養殖漁業十分成功,擁有數十個魚塭,並雇用大量當地員工的AMAZON INTERNATIONAL實習。邱于哲回憶,當時決定參加這份實習的動機,是因為「通常我們學術界和產業界都會有一些隔閡,所以想透過這次的參訪實習,去了解一下我們所做的實驗,最終得到的目的會不會幫助到養殖產業。」

 

在這次的實習當中,有別於平常在課堂中學習到的養殖相關理論基礎,陳立軒和邱于哲親自體驗進入魚塭中捕魚、觀察捕魚後的清池、整理底泥等後續工作,從實務面去瞭解養殖漁業。兩位同學觀察到,在捕魚的過程當中,有些魚隻可能在漁網拖行的過程中會被漁網割傷,這些身上有傷口的魚隻若掙脫漁網回到池中,身上的傷口易感染細菌,受細菌感染的魚進而感染原本池子裡面健康的魚,進而影響下一次的漁獲量,形成惡性循環。由於兩位同學有興趣研究的專題,都與養殖漁業遇到的問題有關,藉由這次的實習,更加確認了預設的研究的方向是對的,也希望日後的研究成果能幫助養殖漁業解決困境。陳立軒也補充,現在其實已在談合作,未來如果找到一些益生菌可以去那邊進行測試,對雙方都有利。

 

為增廣學生的國際視野以提高未來的競爭力,透過國際學術交流活動,學生學習的場域不再侷限於中山的校園,踏出自己的研究室前往海外實習,學習範圍得以延伸,也有機會善加運用姊妹校所有的研究資源,不但讓自己的專業更堅實,更拓展了眼界。江友中教授深信,海外實習對姊妹校雙方的人才培育都有很大的助益,期待接下來繼續與姊妹校配合,為學生提供更多國際參與的機會。

鍾智聆於瑪西敦大學內見習
陳立軒和邱于哲至泰國養殖漁業實習

回饋表單




向上滑動 Feedback