China Medical University-Fruitful InternshipExperiences for China Medical University Students in the Lion City Singapore

China Medical University (CMU)
Fruitful Internship Experiences for China Medical University Students in the Lion City Singapore

Country:Singapore Partner:National University of Singapore、Singapore General Hospital、 Wong Yiu Nam Medical Hall, Ma Kuang Healthcare Group Type of Cooperation: Overseas Research Program(Includes Exchange Students, Short-term Studies, and Internships) Since:2011 Related Link: School Link

Case Feature

  • China Medical University’s College of Pharmacy connects to the world: CMU students learn the experiences from National University of Singapore, which is ranked the top 50 universities in the world.
  • The laboratory medicine internship program of China Medical University took place in Singapore General Hospital, the number 3 hospital in the Ranking of Top 10 Hospitals in the World by Newsweek.
  • The only professional Chinese Medicine internship program in Taiwan that took place in the Wong Yiu Nam Medical Hall, a medical hall that is over a century-old in Singapore.
Lin-Chun Yang (left), Ph.D. Program for Biotech Pharmaceutical Industry, CMU, and Yu-Shan Wang (middle), School of Pharmacy, CMU, that participated in the NUS internship program. They took picture with Professor CHAI Li Lin, Christina, the Chairman of Department of Pharmacy, NUS.

1. National University of Singapore-the internship program in Pharmacy

Associate Dean Hsiang-Wen Lin, College of Pharmacy, CMU, has been leading the global affairs of the College of Pharmacy for a long time. She has promoted the international internship program for the pharmacy students in the past ten years. CMU College of Pharmacy hopes to train students with pharmacy profession, and train pharmacy talents to connect with the world community.

 

“There’s still rooms for the improvement in the quality of Taiwan pharmaceutical counseling, and the professional status of pharmacists in Taiwan is still under-valued. Besides, the pharmaceutical education and the practical training of pharmaceutical care in Taiwan also need to be improved. Not only do we need many experienced teachers to serve as preceptors, but we also need to provide students the opportunities for observational learning and practice. The instructors of clinical pharmacy and social pharmacy (including teachers that specialize in public health) at NUS are knowledgeable and experienced in clinical skills. They are excellent role models and set a good example by applying professional knowledge to the field of the pharmaceutical care and their work place,” said Associate Dean Hsiang-Wen Lin.

 

The students shared their internship experiences and said, the members in the Department of Pharmacy, NUS, emphasize the idea of patients-centered care, and they train students to become pharmacists that are able to cooperate with other professional healthcare workers and provide good quality service of medical care to the public. Cooperation between cross-professional teams is a very important part in Singapore’s medical care system, which is very different from Taiwan.

 

By participating in the internship program in NUS, students can learn and experience exchanges in an all-English environment in the New Southbound Country, achieve the benefit of international learning, and improve their language skills and professional knowledge in pharmacy.

 

2. Singapore General Hospital-the internship program in Medical Laboratory Technology

The internship program at Singapore General Hospital was formed by Professor Meng-Liang Lin, the Chairman of Department of Medical Laboratory Science and Biotechnology, CMU. Professor Lin collaborated with the Division of Laboratory Medicine and the Division of Pathology at SGH, and help students experience different cultures and life skills by studying abroad. Moreover, the industries in Singapore usually come to Taiwan for recruiting the professionals of medical and nursing, so Professor Lin hopes to establish the opportunities for the students to work at the medical and biotechnological industries in Singapore in the future.

 

SGH’s emphasis on the doctor-patient relationship is a value worth of learning. Their mission statement is to provide a good medical environment to every patient through comprehensive clinical practice, medical innovation and lifelong learning.

 

The internship schedule arranged by SGH is very substantial, including visiting laboratories with different areas such as histopathology, translational pathology, cytology and immunology, haematology and serology, virology, cytogentics and TB laboratory. Students are encouraged to learn the top experimental technology and professional knowledge as much as possible during the short-term internship.

 

Professor Meng-Liang Lin believes that a good medical technologist requires the following characteristics:
(1) Professional skills and dedicated attitude: students can complete work with the best professional skills, provide the best service for patients, and respect patients’ dignity, privacy and needs.
(2) The spirit of continuous research and development: students can work hard to get the funds and use data and resources to engage in the study of clinical examinations or medical care, and improve the working procedures and develop suitable inspection techniques or products.
(3) Life-long learning and keeping up with the most updated progress: students should be stress-resistant, compassionate, patient, and cooperate with others, learn for life, participate in professional symposia and learn about the new development of laboratory medicine both domestically and internationally.

 

3. Singapore Wong Yiu Nam Medical Hall-the internship program in Chinese Medicine

Professor Wen-Te Chang, Department of Chinese Pharmaceutical Sciences and Chinese Medicine Resources, CMU, has established the overseas professional internship program since 2012. The first year, he cooperated with Polyclinic, University of Westminster, and the Royal Botanic Gardens in UK. From the second year and on, in order to offer more diversified choice to the students, Professor Chang expanded the internship program and cooperate with AVICENNA Center for Chinese medicine and the Herbprime Company. AVICENNA Center for Chinese medicine is known for treating dermatitis like eczema and it is also a very famous medical center of Chinese medicine in UK. Herbprime Company is the formal agent of Sun Ten Pharmaceutical Company in UK. Cooperation with the Chinese medicine industry institution in Switzerland was established in 2015, then in 2016 Japan イスクラ corporation was added. Cooperation with Singapore, a modern country and yet maintains its traditional cultural elements, was established in 2017. With the internship program, we hope that students can learn the importance and application of Chinese medicine in the world, improve the international visibility of Taiwan’s Chinese medicine education, and furthermore attract international students to come to Taiwan to study Chinese medicine.

 

Wong Yiu Nam Medical Hall was originated in Guangxu period of the late Qing Dynasty. It was registered as a private limited company in 1976, and was bought by Taiwan Ma Kuang Healthcare Group in 2009. Their long operating history came from Wong Yiu Nam’s descendants who insist to keep the traditional decency of the Chinese medicine, select the Chinese medicine strictly and follow the only goal of saving people with Chinese medicine in good quality. In the changing business environment, they preserve the root of traditional Chinese medicine in Singapore for Chinese people, and did not change their faith but pass on their spirit for two generations.

 

A student shared his internship experience:
Dong Quai (Angelica Sinensis) is still Dong Quai, Ginseng is Ginseng. There is no difference in Chinese medicine between Taiwan and UK, but I got fruitful result from the two-month internship program.
Chinese medicine is not outmoded, and we will stride across the world to let more people understand and accept the Chinese medicine system, obtain the benefits from using Chinese medicine.

Professor Meng-Liang Lin (second on the right), the Chairman of Department of Medical Laboratory Science and Biotechnology, CMU, visited the CMU students in Singapore General Hospital during their internship program and gave them some guidance.
CMU students during internship program at Wong Yiu Nam Medical Hall: CMU students from the Department of Chinese Pharmaceutical Science and Chinese Medicine Resource refining the materials of Chinese medicine and decocting the herbal bags for the patients.

回饋表單




Feedback

中國醫藥大學-紮根獅城新加坡,異國實習滿載歸

中國醫藥大學
紮根獅城新加坡,異國實習滿載歸

合作國家:新加坡 合作學校:新加坡國立大學、新加坡中央醫院、新加坡馬光集團黃耀南藥行 交流形式: 海外研修(含交換學生、短習研習、實習) 交流開始年份:2011 相關連結: 學校連結

交流亮點

  • 中醫大藥學接軌國際,取經世界排名前50大之新加坡國立大學。
  • 中醫大醫學檢驗實習計畫,前進美國Newsweek評選全球十大優越醫院第3名的SGH中央醫院。
  • 全臺灣唯一在新加坡百年藥行完成的中藥專業實習計畫,老品牌展現新格局。
本校生技製藥產業博士學位學程楊同學(左起)及藥學系碩士班汪同學至NUS進行見實習計畫,與NUS藥學系主任Professor CHAI Li Lin, Christina合影。

一、新加坡國立大學(National University of Singapore)藥學實習

中醫大藥學院林香汶副院長長期以來主導藥學院的國際事務,已促成近10年來本校藥學系學生出國進行藥學專業實習,期培訓學生們足夠的藥學實力,推動國內人才接軌國際。

 

林副院長表示,台灣藥物諮詢的品質還有優化的空間,藥師的專業地位仍然被忽視。目前台灣藥學教育及藥事照護實務訓練仍有提昇與改善的空間,需要有很多經驗豐富的老師擔任指導老師(preceptor),也要提供學生觀摩實作的機會。而NUS藥學系臨床教師及社會藥學教師(包括公共衛生領域的老師),除了知識豐富及臨床技能純熟,教師以身作則應用所學在執行的藥事照護與工作場域,更是學生最佳的學習典範。

 

學生分享實習心得時表示,NUS藥學系強調以患者為中心,培養藥學系學生日後成為能與其他專業醫護人員一起合作的藥師,將優良的醫療品質提供給民眾。有別於臺灣,跨專業團隊合作模式在新加坡醫療體系中是相當重要的一環。

 

學生到NUS進行短期專業實習,能使其在新南向國家多元化環境中進行全英語學習與經驗交流,達成國際標竿學習的效益,並同時精進學生在語言及藥學方面的專業。

 

二、新加坡中央醫院(Singapore General Hospital)醫學檢驗技術實習

新加坡中央醫院SGH實習為本校醫學檢驗生物技術學系自2011年起,由系主任林孟亮老師接洽其醫學檢驗部及病理部,讓學生透過國外學習,體驗不同文化語言及生活技能。加上新加坡產業經常到臺灣招募醫事護理專業人員,林老師希望未來有機會能建立起系友到新加坡醫療及生技界工作的機會。

 

SGH 重視醫病關係是值得深刻學習的理念,其使命宣言是透過全面綜合臨床實踐,以醫療創新、終身學習為每位患者提供優質的醫療環境。

 

中央醫院的實習行程安排非常充實,有各種不同領域的實驗室,比如組織病理、轉譯病理、細胞及免疫學、血液血清學、病毒學、細胞遺傳學及肺結核實驗室等,在短期實習中儘可能讓學生學到最頂尖的實驗技術及專業知識。

 

林孟亮老師認為,要成為一名優秀的醫檢師,需要具備的條件有:
1. 紮實的醫事專業能力與敬業的態度:以最佳的專業技能完成工作,重視病人尊嚴、隱私、需求,貢獻所學為患者提供最好的服務。
2. 持續研發的精神:努力爭取經費及合理利用數據及資源從事臨床檢驗或醫事照護之相關研究,改善工作流程和研發適切之檢驗技術或產品。
3. 與時俱進的進修:學生應具備抗壓性、愛心及耐心,與他人合作終身學習,參加專業研討會並學習國內外檢驗醫學的新發展。

 

三、新加坡黃耀南藥行(Wong Yiu Nam Medical Hall)中藥實習

本校中國藥學暨中藥資源學系張文德老師,自2012年起積極建立海外專業實習,第一年鎖定英國西敏大學Polyclinic中醫門診與皇家植物園(Royal Botanic Gardens),第二年起,基於職場實習多元化,將實習地點從學術氣息之單位擴展到以治療英國常見濕疹相關皮膚疾病、英國知名的中醫醫療中心AVICENNA Centre for Chinese Medicine,及順天堂英國正式代理商Herbprime公司,讓學生有較多選擇。2015年增加瑞士中藥產業機構,2016年增加日本イスクラ産業株式会社。2017年增加新加坡,一個既現代又傳統的國家,希望透過百年中藥行的海外實習,讓學生了解世界各國對中藥的重視與應用,並提高臺灣中醫藥教育在國際的能見度,吸引國際學生來臺學習中醫藥相關課程。

 

黃耀南藥行源於清末光緒年間,1976年註冊成為私人有限公司,2009年為臺灣馬光保健集團收購,其悠久的經營歷史來自黃耀南的傳人堅持中藥材行的傳統正派,嚴選藥材,以良藥救人為唯一宗旨,二代傳承始終不變,在變化萬千的商業環境中守住了華人在新加坡傳統中藥的根源。

 

同學分享實習心得,「當歸還是當歸;人參就是人參,中藥在英國和台灣是沒有分別的,但我因為這兩個月的實習而收穫滿滿,中醫藥並非陳舊保守,我們將跨足世界,讓世界更多人了解、接納中醫體系,更進而得到使用中藥的好處。」

本校醫學檢驗生物技術學系系主任林孟亮老師(右二)至新加坡中央醫院訪視實習學生,了解學生的實習生活並給予指導。
本校中國藥學暨中藥資源學系學生於黃耀南藥行實習情形:後台工作,進行藥材炮製及協助病人燉煮中藥包。

回饋表單




Feedback