Shih Hsin University Started Internship Program in CNN Headquarters, Upgrades the International Communication Education

Shih Hsin University
Started Internship Program in CNN Headquarters, Upgrades the International Communication Education

Country:America Partner:CNN Type of Cooperation: Overseas Research Program(Includes Exchange Students, Short-term Studies, and Internships) Since:2019

Case Feature

  • It is such an unprecedented case in the communication education in Taiwan. Professors and students of Shih Hsin University visited CNN headquarters, starting a solid field training.
  • CNN will provide the real-time database in the industry standard as the teaching material for Shih Hsin University.
  • In the tutorial, students from Shih Hsin University took the opportunities to ask questions and do drill exercises with the CNN anchor.
Most of the students of Shih Hsin University CNN training group are from the communication departments, but some of them are from different colleges and departments.

Shih Hsin University Started Internship Program in CNN Headquarters, Upgrades the International Communication Education

 

It is such an unprecedented case in the communication education in Taiwan. Professors and students of Shih Hsin University visited CNN headquarters, starting a solid field training.

 

Shih Hsin University established partnership with CNN on March 1st, 2019, which is a milestone in terms of international communication education. According to the agreement, CNN will provide the real-time database in the industry standard as the teaching material for Shih Hsin University. Both CNN and Shih Hsin University also focused on some important issues concerning students’ training section in CNN Atlanta headquarters and the student will also have an opportunity to interact with CNN anchors face to face.

 

Led by the Dean of the College of Journalism and Communication, Dr. John Wen, and Professor, SYYI TZENG, profession in new media, there were 17 people, including students from undergraduates to doctorial students in the CNN training group, starting one-week training in CNN Atlanta headquarters from 5th August. The keynote speakers were the Vice President, Veronica Molina, International News anchor, Lynda Kinkade, all with their own professionalism. The field training included CNN’s SOP, journalistic ethics, digital image strategy, social media, skills in host and report, international news, drone and news narratives to name a few. CNN, highly valuing the partnership with Shih Hsin University, invited some senior executives and anchors to interact with students.

 

How to report with feeling through camera? CNN’s International News anchor, Lynda Kinkade, suggested seeing the camera as your own mother. In the tutorial, students from Shih Hsin University took the opportunities to ask questions and do drill exercises with the CNN anchor. To better answer students’ questions, CNN decided to open extra courses, explaining and advising on how to apply for CNN’s Internship program.

 

A lot of students of Shih Hsin University are devoted to becoming news anchors which showed their great interest in CNN’s anchor training courses. Lynda Kinkade, one of the training anchors, detailed demonstrated the Standard Operating Procedures of CNN anchor as well as her personal experiences working in the media industry from Australia to America as CNN anchor. Lynda Kinkade also shared the experience as the host on the primary election debate of Democratic Party, and how the CNN team handled the emergency issues, which made it a spotlight of this training.

 

Shih Hsin University, with the biggest College of Communication, is an important cradle of media practitioners in Taiwan. Facing the higher education challenges both inside and outside of Taiwan, Shih Hsin University launched its Omnimedia Building, the first media center in Taiwan, the upgrade of hardware devices has become the crucial part in communication education. Additionally, the cooperation with CNN is the key to the upgrade of the internationalization of education.

The group photo of CNN Vice President, Veronica Molina, senior manager, Tucker, and Shih Hsin University training group.
Group photo of CNN anchor, Lynda Kinkade, and Shih Hsin University team.

回饋表單




Scroll Up Feedback

世新大學啟動CNN總部實地密訓 傳媒教育國際化再升級

世新大學
啟動CNN總部實地密訓 傳媒教育國際化再升級

合作國家:美國 合作學校:有線電視新聞網 交流形式: 海外研修(含交換學生、短習研習、實習) 交流開始年份:2019

交流亮點

  • 首開國內大學傳播教育先例,世新師生研習團進入美國有線電視新聞網(CNN)總部,展開實地密集訓練。
  • CNN提供業界規格即時資料庫,作為世新教學素材。
  • 學生密集提問並把握機會與CNN主播模擬演練。
世新大學研習團成員以傳播學系為主,也涵蓋不同專長學生

世新大學啟動CNN總部實地密訓 傳媒教育國際化再升級

首開國內大學傳播教育先例,世新師生研習團進入美國有線電視新聞網(CNN)總部,展開實地密集訓練。

 

世新大學在今年3月1日成為CNN在台首所夥伴大學,為傳播教育國際化邁出關鍵一步。根據雙方的夥伴協定,CNN提供業界規格即時資料庫,作為世新教學素材。雙方也商定重點議題,供世新學生在CNN亞特蘭大總部研習,並和CNN新聞主管主播面對面交流討論。

 

今年世新大學CNN研習團成員共17人,由傳播學院院長温偉群與熟悉新媒體的教師曾絲宜帶隊,團員以傳播學院大學部學生為主、並涵蓋博碩士生以及不同學院代表,從美東時間8月5日起,在CNN亞特蘭大總部進行一週密集研習。講座陣容具有高度專業性,副總裁莫理納(Veronica Molina)與國際新聞主播金卡德(Lynda Kinkade)均受邀主講。研討主題包括則涵蓋CNN標準作業、新聞倫理、數位影像策略、社群媒體實務、主持播報技巧、國際新聞、空拍機與新聞敘事等十多項重要主題。CNN對來自台灣的首所夥伴大學相當重視,特別邀集高階主管與主播輪番上陣,與受訓學生進行深度互動。

 

面對冷冰的鏡頭,如何有溫度地播報?CNN國際新聞主播金卡德(Lynda Kinkade)給受訓世新學生的建議是「就把鏡頭當作自己媽媽」。在小班互動教學中,學生密集提問並把握機會與CNN主播模擬演練。而回應同學們的積極詢問,CNN決定在原定課表外加開課程,說明申請CNN校園招募與實習申請建議。

 

許多世新學生有志成為電視主播,對於CNN高人氣主播的課程充滿期待。授課主播金卡德詳細說明了CNN主播作業流程,也分享她從澳洲媒體轉戰美國,坐上CNN主播台的奮鬥過程。剛主持美國民主黨初選辯論的金卡德,也以親身個案具體呈現CNN團隊如何處理突發狀況,成為此次特訓課程的一大亮點。

 

世新大學擁有國內最大規模的傳播學院,向來是台灣媒體的主要培育搖籃。面對國內外高教環境的挑戰,世新今年正式啟用國內大學首座「全媒體大樓」,成為傳播教育的設備升級的重點行動。與CNN進行中的各項合作,則是世新教育國際化升級的關鍵行動。

CNN副總裁莫理納(二排右三)與資深經理塔克(二排左四)與世新師生合影
CNN主播金卡德與世新師生合影

回饋表單




Feedback