Latest News

Successful Conclusion to the “International Experience Exchange Workshop on Post-Pandemic University Campus Anti-Transmission Measures”

The 2020 “International Experience Exchange Workshop on Post-Pandemic University Campus Anti-Transmission Measures” drew to a successful close on August 17 at the Taipei campus of Tamkang University. The workshop brought together 95 attendees from 52 colleges and universities throughout Taiwan, including directors of international affairs and related staffers.

The Director General of Department of International and Cross-Strait Education, Ministry of Education, Andy Cheu-An Bi opened the event in address noting the impact of COVID-19 on international collaboration, and the rapid deployment of effective countermeasures including remote video communication, online education and online international conferences. “I’m very happy to see you again,” he said, “and I want to express my appreciation for the recent non-stop efforts and dedication of all my colleagues in international affairs from all of Taiwan’s colleges and universities in assisting foreign students to return to their studies in Taiwan, from arranging airport transportation to arranging flexible class attendance measures. Now, as the storm continues to rage, Taiwan is emerging as one of the first in the world to reopen its borders to international students, and among the first in which on campus education is returning to relative normalcy. The whole country has made history together, and greatly raised the global profile of Taiwan’s higher education.”

President Jenny Huey-Jen Su, Chairperson of the Foundation for International Cooperation in Higher Education Taiwan (FICHET), said that the continuing pandemic and need for social distancing presents clear obstacles to close collaboration and interaction. “However, despite our current challenges, I’m gladdened to see so many of my colleagues and partners in international affairs in education come together today. I am deeply moved, and hope that everyone will continue to support the promotion of international education, and that we can collectively learn from this experience and emerge from this stronger than before, with new ideas and new models that will enable us to work together more effectively to continue to drive Taiwan’s higher education sector to new achievements.”

At the workshop, Professor Trong-Neng Wu, Vice President of Asia University and a renowned expert in environmental public health and with considerable experience in international exchange, explained the challenges presented by COVID-19 and measures Taiwan needs to take to prevent community spread, particularly on campus. Ms. Elizabeth Yu-Feng Chu, former R.O.C. ambassador and Administrative Deputy Minister of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs discussed how international affairs offices can improve cross-cultural communication to ensure smooth quarantine and how to effectively maintain safe social distancing on campus for students of different cultural backgrounds.

In addition, the workshop invited senior members of the international offices, including Head of Global Students Division, Andrew Tsung of National Taiwan University, Program Coordinator, Irene Ho of National Taiwan University of Science and Technology, Deputy Director of International Relations Division, Cindy Su of National Cheng Kung University, and Director Yu Mei Wang of Cross-Strait Affairs Center, Soochow University, to explain measures taken by their respective institutions to ensure campus safety during the pandemic. Their discussions covered how colleges can care for overseas degree students and exchange students, to promoting international and cross-Strait cooperation and exchange through video conference. Vietnamese PhD student Nguyen Thu Hang also contributed her perspective and experience of studying in Taiwan.

聯絡資訊
Ms Cheyenne Changchangyh@fichet.org.tw

回饋表單

Scroll UpFeedback

最新消息

「後疫情時代─大學校院國際事務鏈結及校園抗疫經驗交流工作坊」圓滿落幕

2020年「後疫情時代─大學校院國際事務鏈結及校園抗疫經驗交流工作坊」於8月17日(一)假淡江台北校園圓滿落幕,本次講座匯聚全國52所大學校院共95位國際事務人員及相關業務同仁一同參與。

教育部國際及兩岸教育司畢祖安司長擔任本場活動之開幕貴賓,畢司長有感於2020年新冠肺炎(COVID-19)疫情肆虐全球,許多國際合作業務因而停擺,大家僅能透過遠端視訊方式進行交流對談、舉辦線上教育展或線上國際會議,故非常開心能見到大家,並感謝全國大學校院國際事務同仁近日的努力與付出,不分晝夜協助境外學生返台接機、就學等事宜;讓我們在疫情風暴下仍屹立不搖,成為全球第一個開放邊境,同意讓國際學生入境、回歸正常校園的國家,全國上下一同創造歷史,讓臺灣高等教育名揚國際。

財團法人高等教育國際合作基金會蘇慧貞董事長亦表認同,當COVID-19疫情不斷擴散蔓延,人與人之間不得不拉開距離時,大家會開始懷念過去一起共事、近距離互動的感覺。然在如此艱難的時刻,仍能見到那麼多的國際事務同仁與夥伴齊聚一堂,感動之餘,亦期許大家能繼續支持國際事務的推動,並在疫情中汲取經驗、借力使力,於不同面向發揮新的想像,學習新的模式,共同努力,讓臺灣高等教育持續向前邁進。

本次工作坊邀請於國際交流、環境公衛場域皆頗負盛名,且有抗疫實戰經驗的亞洲大學副校長吳聰能教授為大家解說COVID-19病毒的棘手之處,臺灣疫情相關單位如何超前部署防堵新冠疫情蔓延、社區防疫與校園防疫又當有何作為,以保障民眾生命安全、學生安心就學。另一方面,前外交部次長退休大使朱玉鳳女士跟大家分享防疫期間,因應不同文化背景,國際事務人員該如何進行跨文化交流,並在保持安全社交距離下,從容大方又不失禮貌的落實國際禮儀。

此外,本工作坊亦邀請臺灣大學、臺灣科技大學、成功大學與東吳大學國際處的資深同仁叢肇廷總監、何岱霖專員、蘇杏芬副組長及王玉梅主任,依序和大家分享在疫情爆發後,大學校院如何關懷、照顧境外學位生與交換學生,並於困境中以視訊會議方式,持續推動國際及兩岸的合作與交流。最後,另邀請越南籍博士生阮秋姮同學現身說法,分享其留學臺灣之經驗及感想。

聯絡資訊
張嫣修專員changyh@fichet.org.tw

回饋表單




向上滑動 Feedback